We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere, nice food and gluten free available”
Review of One Fat Bird

One Fat Bird
Ranked #220 of 1,081 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Description: We have tables and spaces for all different occasions whether you want a quick bite to eat or to spend the whole night with us. We have large tables for families and more intimate tables for any lovebirds out there! We also have an ideal area that can be booked out for 50 people which is great for larger parties.
Restaurant details
Description: We have tables and spaces for all different occasions whether you want a quick bite to eat or to spend the whole night with us. We have large tables for families and more intimate tables for any lovebirds out there! We also have an ideal area that can be booked out for 50 people which is great for larger parties.
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Visited here to see Chris Jones play (excellent) and found the atmosphere was good, staff were friendly and meals were good. Gluten free options available.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KiwiHJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 September 2018

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us here at OFB. We have live music once a weekend so please keep an eye on our social media for more musicians that will be taking the stage here. Chris Jones has a couple more gigs lined up for the year so hopefully we will see you back to enjoy yourself again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018

Ok if you like burger & ribs but the veg option was poor and made worse by poor presentation & 1st response to complaint. Complaint to the manager did knock the veg meals off the bill & free desert for those eating them but the evening had been spoiled. The issue should have been picked up sooner

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Darkewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonHG, Digital Marketing Manager at One Fat Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Darkewood, thanks for taking the time to let us know about this. We pride ourselves on offering great variety in our menu and it is unfortunate to hear that your vegetarian meal didn't match the quality of our meat based meals. We’ll be sure to pass this feedback on to the kitchen staff. Feedback like this helps us create a menu for all our customers to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This village pub in Karori, Wellington, was recommended by the owner of our Air BnB accommodation in Northland, which is nearby. It is family run. lovely dining room and bar. very easy parking right outside. Attentive service but food was slow. Kid's menu and kids' cocktails, which our 10-year old enjoyed. Long craft beer menu. Standard pub food (burgers, fish and chips, etc) with nice touches like chips served in cute wire baskets. Good for families.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonHG, other at One Fat Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hi Susan W, thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear everyone enjoyed their meals and the kids' cocktails were a hit. We pride ourselves on making One Fat Bird family friendly and knowing that we were able to achieve this makes us happy. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

The beef-burger patties have definitely improved from the dry solid bricks that they were, so well done OFB on that - but having never tried the pork chop I thought I’d give it a go ...
Well the protein was ok, quite tasty - once I found it amongst the slushy mess of red cabbage and mashed potato and cheese sauce (I think). I know everyone’s an expert these days BUT sorry guys, presentation does matter.
As for the ‘crackling’ - it was totally inedible. Even my carnivorous teenage boys couldn’t eat it as it was teeth-bustingly rock hard & totally completely tasteless.
Seriously OFB - please taste your food before you send it out ...

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Noel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonHG, Digital Marketing Manager at One Fat Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Noel L, we pride ourselves on having high standards when it comes to the food we serve and it is unfortunate to hear that your meal was not of a high standard. We’ll be sure to pass this feedback on to the kitchen staff to ensure we don't have a repeat. We would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we can only improve. Please accept our apology and we hope that you’ll give us a second chance to get it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We had dinner here with a largeish group (about 12 pax) one Sunday eve, they were very slow to serve us and meals took even longer, near to an hour after ordering. The other tables around us arrived later and had dessert before we even had our mains. The food was very average, the roasts came with no greens (except one person who got ONE bean) and were just a pile of things, not even arranged so you could see what was on your plate. The pork chop came as medallions not as chops and the person who ordered thai curry with prawns got no prawns. Staff said they were cut up and distributed through the meal... A very disappointing meal all up and we would not eat there again.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L2TNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonHG, Digital Marketing Manager at One Fat Bird, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi L2TNZ, everything we do is designed to deliver a great customer experience and it appears we haven’t been able to deliver on this for you. Please accept our apologies it’s not how we normally are. We’re looking into this and will be speaking with the kitchen and service staff to ensure we don’t have a repeat. I understand you may not wish to give us a second chance but we would like the opportunity to make this up to you and show that it was a one off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Fat Bird also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to One Fat Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing