We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing”

Cuba Street District
Ranked #29 of 199 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

A long street full of wonderful bars, Shops and restaurants as well as a number of character who are attracted to these areas

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bucket fountain"
in 104 reviews
"interesting shops"
in 43 reviews
"street performers"
in 43 reviews
"great street"
in 22 reviews
"cafes and bars"
in 19 reviews
"food stalls"
in 23 reviews
"great coffee"
in 22 reviews
"lambton quay"
in 18 reviews
"new zealand"
in 32 reviews
"bohemian"
in 52 reviews
"stroll"
in 76 reviews
"logan"
in 20 reviews
"clothing"
in 30 reviews
"diversity"
in 20 reviews
"culture"
in 43 reviews
"heaps"
in 18 reviews
"nz"
in 50 reviews
Filter

106 - 110 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

I had done my research into Cuba Street in Wellington and was looking forward to a bohemian area that had lots of local and alternative shops and artifacts available to me as a visitor. Boy was I disappointed. Basically there is nothing there that is different from other places. All I saw was a few alternative restaurants. Did I go on a bad day !!!!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank raymondb944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We were in Wellington 7 years ago and loved this area but in 2018 it is a different story - area is looking shabby and looks like most of the good restaurants have closed - such a shame but not what it was

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Cuba Street is one of the oldest and most characterful parts of Wellington with a significant number of pre1900 buildings still standing...quite good considering the earthquakes! There are all manner of people, clubs, venues and night life here and there is a good vibe. Great for street photography..explore the side alleyways that are not obvious...e.g. Wigan Street, as many of them are really quirky!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank MaryL5296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This area was very close to our hotel and we enjoyed wandering along and browsing in a variety of shops. We returned to the area at night and ate a lovely authentic Italian meal but there was also a food van area which also offered some tempting alternatives.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 564kymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuba Street District also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Cuba Street District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing