We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
86
96
98
64
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
96
98
64
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cleaned regularly bed room courtney place common areas south island top floor bars and restaurants te papa museum location is great great room would stay again city centre ensuite harbour supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and can't have many complaints to be honest, 6 bed dorm was a bit cramped and small, the kitchen was great, and downstairs bar was cool.
The staff were friendly and it is in a great location.
The one thing that did really annoy me was all 4 of my showers were cold!!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback, really sorry about the cold showers, our old building has been playing some tricks on us with faulty pressure valves and under performing water pumps, I assure all this has been fixed by now, it seems the downtime's just been less than 30 minutes each time on different valves ceased which made it very difficult for us to locate the issues. Enjoy the rest of our travels, Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

This is just part of the Nomad money-making enterprise. They own two massive buildings in the city, a short walk from each other. Because Wellington is so busy (all hostels are booked out the day before often) they can get away with offering very little at a high price. Everything cost money here: crappy excuse for breakfast, extra $5. You want wifi? It'll cost you $4 for 24 hours. You want to leave your bags at the hostel for the day when you checkout? Extra charge. You get the idea.

The rooms, hallways, and kitchen are grim as. Unfortunately this may be the only option left for a traveller not planning too far ahead (as was the case with me), but you're better off looking for a host on couchsurfing or meeting a nice person on the street or in a restaurant to stay with. Avoid if you can.

The one alright thing is the staff: they do the best they can, though you can tell that this is a corporate enterprise with tons of rules and regulations the staff have to follow.

All in all, do your best to avoid giving money to this hostel monopoly. You know the CEOs and shareholders are making a fortune off poor travelers, offering little at a high price. AVOID

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevensteven327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Great feedback thanks.
We believe the breakfast for $5 is very fair value, perhaps looking around the cost of food in supermarkets may make you understand that for the selection you get and all you can eat our price is actually rather fair, also the internet, are you aware for a domestic internet connection averaging 50GB per month you would pay around $50-$70 in NZ ? So with our $12 per week / $4 day internet we consider this as very good value for money. With your cost expectations this is very unlikely but we really hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice!!!!!
Nice place to stay, very friendly staff, good atmosphere, clean bathrooms and kitchen. location near to everything like shopping, new world, restaurants, te papa museum, Mount Victoria. not far from cubastreet.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank chou-tmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback, Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Location is good - next to courtney place (bars and restaurants), te papa museum and the waterfront. Beds are clean and comfortable. Showers are okay but i was glad not to spend a week there - don't forget tour flip-flops. Free wifi from 7am-7pm but honestly it never worked properly - so slow.. I didn't have a good experience with the personnel at reception, but maybe i was just unlucky.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AudreyC2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the feedback, the free wifi in reception is well used and if capacity is used due to downloading etc other users may have lower speeds. The internet is designed to check email etc however in considered users are downloading etc . We have the uncapped $4 per day available which is high speed . Enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Good location in relation to many city attractions, staff are friendly and helpful and our room on the top floor had a great view.
The room was very basic, poorly ventilated as the only air flow was through tiny gaps in the windows so we had to leave the door wedged open to get the hot air out as it was a warm Wellington day. It was fairly clean except for one towel that had what looked like blood stains on it but over-all tired with paint peeling off in the bathroom.
It was expensive for what you get and you need to add on between $19-$30 per day parking if you don't get parking at the backpackers. OK but there is better value if you look around and don't wait till the last minute.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pepeshredder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback, unfortunately parking is a premium just like in all other cities in the world, however we do have some car parks available at $15 per night and our friendly reception staff happy advise cheaper parking options as little as $12 per day with Wilson parking. Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews