We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficiency in taking your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Wellington Backpackers
Reviewed 15 March 2017

This is just part of the Nomad money-making enterprise. They own two massive buildings in the city, a short walk from each other. Because Wellington is so busy (all hostels are booked out the day before often) they can get away with offering very little at a high price. Everything cost money here: crappy excuse for breakfast, extra $5. You want wifi? It'll cost you $4 for 24 hours. You want to leave your bags at the hostel for the day when you checkout? Extra charge. You get the idea.

The rooms, hallways, and kitchen are grim as. Unfortunately this may be the only option left for a traveller not planning too far ahead (as was the case with me), but you're better off looking for a host on couchsurfing or meeting a nice person on the street or in a restaurant to stay with. Avoid if you can.

The one alright thing is the staff: they do the best they can, though you can tell that this is a corporate enterprise with tons of rules and regulations the staff have to follow.

All in all, do your best to avoid giving money to this hostel monopoly. You know the CEOs and shareholders are making a fortune off poor travelers, offering little at a high price. AVOID

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevensteven327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Great feedback thanks.
We believe the breakfast for $5 is very fair value, perhaps looking around the cost of food in supermarkets may make you understand that for the selection you get and all you can eat our price is actually rather fair, also the internet, are you aware for a domestic internet connection averaging 50GB per month you would pay around $50-$70 in NZ ? So with our $12 per week / $4 day internet we consider this as very good value for money. With your cost expectations this is very unlikely but we really hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 85 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice!!!!!
Nice place to stay, very friendly staff, good atmosphere, clean bathrooms and kitchen. location near to everything like shopping, new world, restaurants, te papa museum, Mount Victoria. not far from cubastreet.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank chou-tmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback, Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Location is good - next to courtney place (bars and restaurants), te papa museum and the waterfront. Beds are clean and comfortable. Showers are okay but i was glad not to spend a week there - don't forget tour flip-flops. Free wifi from 7am-7pm but honestly it never worked properly - so slow.. I didn't have a good experience with the personnel at reception, but maybe i was just unlucky.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the feedback, the free wifi in reception is well used and if capacity is used due to downloading etc other users may have lower speeds. The internet is designed to check email etc however in considered users are downloading etc . We have the uncapped $4 per day available which is high speed . Enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Good location in relation to many city attractions, staff are friendly and helpful and our room on the top floor had a great view.
The room was very basic, poorly ventilated as the only air flow was through tiny gaps in the windows so we had to leave the door wedged open to get the hot air out as it was a warm Wellington day. It was fairly clean except for one towel that had what looked like blood stains on it but over-all tired with paint peeling off in the bathroom.
It was expensive for what you get and you need to add on between $19-$30 per day parking if you don't get parking at the backpackers. OK but there is better value if you look around and don't wait till the last minute.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pepeshredder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback, unfortunately parking is a premium just like in all other cities in the world, however we do have some car parks available at $15 per night and our friendly reception staff happy advise cheaper parking options as little as $12 per day with Wilson parking. Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay, very friendly staff, good atmosphere, clean bathrooms and kitchen. location near to everything like shopping, new world, restaurants, te papa museum, Mount Victoria. not far from cubastreet.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback. Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 53 in Wellington
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
1 km away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#10 of 53 in Wellington
266 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#15 of 53 in Wellington
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Wellington Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: €34 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing