We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
86
95
98
64
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
95
98
64
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basement bar cleaned regularly bed room courtney place light sleeper common areas courtenay place south island top floor te papa museum bars and restaurants location is great would stay again great room city centre nightlife supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice!!!!!
Nice place to stay, very friendly staff, good atmosphere, clean bathrooms and kitchen. location near to everything like shopping, new world, restaurants, te papa museum, Mount Victoria. not far from cubastreet.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank chou-tmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback, Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Location is good - next to courtney place (bars and restaurants), te papa museum and the waterfront. Beds are clean and comfortable. Showers are okay but i was glad not to spend a week there - don't forget tour flip-flops. Free wifi from 7am-7pm but honestly it never worked properly - so slow.. I didn't have a good experience with the personnel at reception, but maybe i was just unlucky.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank AudreyC2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the feedback, the free wifi in reception is well used and if capacity is used due to downloading etc other users may have lower speeds. The internet is designed to check email etc however in considered users are downloading etc . We have the uncapped $4 per day available which is high speed . Enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Good location in relation to many city attractions, staff are friendly and helpful and our room on the top floor had a great view.
The room was very basic, poorly ventilated as the only air flow was through tiny gaps in the windows so we had to leave the door wedged open to get the hot air out as it was a warm Wellington day. It was fairly clean except for one towel that had what looked like blood stains on it but over-all tired with paint peeling off in the bathroom.
It was expensive for what you get and you need to add on between $19-$30 per day parking if you don't get parking at the backpackers. OK but there is better value if you look around and don't wait till the last minute.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pepeshredder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback, unfortunately parking is a premium just like in all other cities in the world, however we do have some car parks available at $15 per night and our friendly reception staff happy advise cheaper parking options as little as $12 per day with Wilson parking. Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay, very friendly staff, good atmosphere, clean bathrooms and kitchen. location near to everything like shopping, new world, restaurants, te papa museum, Mount Victoria. not far from cubastreet.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback. Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I had a valid booking for here and after a terrible incident happened while getting cash out for my stay my wallet was stolen so I went to reception for the hostel after speaking to the company who owned the hostel and explained my situation to be told sorry nothing we can do and you must try and find the cash or get something sorted before we can help luckily my tour provider agreed to cover my stay and I was given free drink vouchers by the reception manager by way of apology so I went up and checked into my room which was absolutely tiny and there was a foul smell in the room and yet had 6 beds in the room which only had space for 4 I tried to ask to switch room but the hostel was full even the cleaners said they couldn't get rid of the smell and just said I have to bare it then when I went to the bar in the hostel the bar manager accused me of theft saying that customers don't get free drink vouchers even though I explained that the reception manager had given them to me she demanded I pay for drinks that I had valid vouchers for or she would call the police I won't be staying here again if the staff are going to be like that Steff was the only friendly member of staff

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback , Sorry to hear you had your wallet stolen although I believe most of your feedback seems very strange. Regardless we will investigate this feedback further and assure you we will try to improve our services. Timo Hummel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews