We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't, there's other hostels in Welli”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Wellington Backpackers
Reviewed 19 January 2012

There are good hostels and bad hostels, this one is bad. I've been in my fair share of hostels all over the world and have my own standards. New Zealand is a beautiful Country (my fav after Canada) and they have some really great and unique hostels. This was not one of them. Base hostels as a group are also usualy very nice and clean. Again this was not one of them. Base Wellington was really un-cared for. The rooms were dirty. The sheets were fresh, but the beds were not, the floors wern't vaccumed, there was dirtyness everywhere! The kitchen was also a mess. I know this is generally the fault of other trvelers, but it's also the staffs responsibility to clean it if the guests don't. The kitchen is also really small and was difficult to use.
Location wise this hostel gets points. It was close to everything including the grocery store. The pub below was also really great. Extra points there, I had fun.
But if you're going to stay overnight in Wellington, find another hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twistedtippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 315 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

I can't really praise this hostel enough. It is in a great location, just off Courtenay Place. The building does not look amazing from the outside, but inside, there's a fairly spacious internet/computer usage area, with a big reception and friendly staff. The kitchen is basically one whole floor, with lots and lots of facilities and no one really gets in anyone else's way.

The best thing about this hostel was my free upgrade!!!! I booked a stay in Base Wellington via nakedsleep.com, and paid NZD$16 for 2 nights stay in an 8 bed mixed dorm. I got there, and found out they had very kindly upgraded me to a bed in the Sanctuary, the female only floor, which would have normally cost me NZD$66. The Sanctuary takes up the whole of the fifth floor, and has three bathrooms and a large socialising space. The rooms are very clean and spacious.

Thankyou Base Wellington for making the last 2 nights of my stay in New Zealand a very comfortable one :-)

Room Tip: check whether or not it is cheaper to stay in Base hostels via www.nakedsleep.com, sometimes they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm. I only stayed here for one night. 3/4 beds had urine-stained sheets, the bathrooms were dirty, the windows were thin and rattled throughout the night. There was always a long queue for reception, who were pretty useless, and the lifts were rubbish. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DA_2011134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed her one night and didn't think too much of it, just average. It reminds me of a fraternity house at a state school. It's big, the dorms and hallways look a bit worn, and there's a shared bathroom for at least 25 people. I paid a rugby world cup price, unfortunately, and, for 54NZD a night, it was the worst value of all hostels I stayed in NZ. The basement has a bar that really reminds me of a frat party. I'd look elsewhere first, although this place will do in a pinch. It was the worst of 8 hostels I stayed in while traveling around NZ.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This Hostel was average on every level, the rooms were clean and beds small but comfortable. The rooms were cramped with small beds but for a few nights stay it wasnt a big problem. Staff were friendly but again average didnt go out of their way to help or assist but were always available should you have a question. Bathroom and toilets were spacious and clean and never had a problem with finding a vacant shower either in the evening or morning.
Nothing is included in the price of a nights stay so you have to pay for Wifi and breakfast, kitchen was alaso spacious but bit of a squeeze in the evening.
Positives of the Hostel were location, bag storage after you checked out, very efficently run and fantastic views on the top floors.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumasole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 53 in Wellington
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
1 km away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#10 of 53 in Wellington
266 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#16 of 53 in Wellington
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Wellington Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: €34 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing