We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
125
99
41
37
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
99
41
37
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit host john new zealand basin reserve bed and breakfast tv lounge city centre an easy walk tea coffee mt victoria double bed interislander ferry stayed here for two nights courtenay place te papa museum guesthouse accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Old fashioned decor, too much furniture in room. We chose this B+B due to location and parking available in the street
John was quite sarcastic in his approach and not very helpful could do with developing customer service skills

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank angelaE472SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom spacious and clean. The location was just far enough away from the city centre (a ten - fifteen minute walk) and the main roads to be quiet. The breakfast, cereal and toast, was good, and set you up for the day. The host came across as a bit grumpy at times, but I don't think it's meant to be offensive, and may be tongue in cheek.

Room Tip: We were in the basement, so had no view. Try asking for upstairs if a view is important to you
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootingtraveller2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Check in was quick and easy and the location is a short 15min walk to the centre of town. The girl who checked us in was very helpful explaining the local area and also provided us with a map. On first impressions the decor was a little dated and the towels seemed quite old but the room we were staying in was spacious and the bathroom big with a good shower. Great value considering breakfast is included. John, the owner, is certainly a character and likes to tease his guests, but it’s obviously all in jest. I think he is an important part of the time gone by character the place has. Sky sports in our room and in the sitting room were a bonus as my husband is a football fan. I would definitely recommend and stay again

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in order to explore Wellington and was given all the information we needed by the owner including a map and the all important parking permit! Our room was spacious and nicely decorated in a Victorian style. The bathroom was clean and the shower powerful! The owner John really cares for the place and our room looked freshly decorated and was more than spacious enough for two. Unusually for NZ a basic breakfast is included as well which is cereals and toast. Other reviewers mentioned eggs as well although we didn’t ask about that during our visit.

The one negative was the headboard in our room was loose and knocked against the wall if you shifted around in bed at all. It didn’t detract from our nights sleep at all though and I’m sure it will be fixed after this review. I’m giving this place the full five stars because I liked it and would stay again. Reasonable price, decent shower, clean and tidy room and we had a good sleep!

Nice touch of the local paper in the room!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

If you’re in a tight budget and want to stay near town then this is the place to be. Room is pretty decent but I think it would be nice if they did some improvements by replacing the old furnitures and upgrading the shower.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank AndreTanriosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews