We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$191
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rydges Wellington(Wellington)
US$132
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
At Home Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$66
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Wellesley Boutique Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
75
232
161
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
232
161
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewste papagreat locationmichael fowler centrewakefield stcentral locationshower curtainrubbish truckstriple roomthe hotel is cleanattending a conferenceacross the roadbreakfast was includedeating placescuba mallbed was comfortablewater frontcuba st
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Basic hotel, comfortable room which was clean and tidy but the walls are so thin could clearly hear people talking in adjoining rooms. The breakfast was good as was the bar area. Staff were professional, helpful and friendly. Great location and an easy walk to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The Hotel is in easy reach (walking) for the city centre and Wharf's etc. The Hotel itself was clean and very nice. The staff were very helpful and the rooms spacious. Breakfast was normal but not a big choice of buffet foods.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank porchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Chose this hotel in the end for location - we walked everywhere Cuba St, waterfront, mt Victoria (easy to achieve in wellington though!). Friendly easy check in, and room was tidy, clean and spacious enough. I'd say a comfortable 3 star hotel - shower curtain a bit average for a supposed 4 star hotel.
Noise wise not a bad spot - regardless where you stay if there is a loud crowd out at 2am the sound will carry. We were on 5th floor.
Good value for price, would stay again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate it. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option and as you said we have a fantastic central location to explore Wellington City. We hope to see you again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The hotel is near city center. The rooms are spacious and hygiene is good. WIFI is okay. However since the hotel is in the city center it does not have adequate parking facilities. Hence if you are going for a longer stay you need to pay for your parking in public parking area. The hotel does not allow 3 adults in a room. Hence if you are a family of 4 people with one of kid being classified as adult than you need to book another room for them.

The staff was decent.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 868malharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback. The hotel does have rooms that can accommodate 4 people, unfortunately these were already in use during your stay. We appreciate your comments.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

This hotel is centrally located In Wellington close to attractions such as Te Papa & Wellington waterfront. railway station & buses. Clean comfortable rooms & bed, good meals - dinner & breakfast, friendly helpful staff., Tayed here overnight with a group arrived by train & caught ferry next day to Picton

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thanks for your comments, it’s good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option located in the heart of Wellington city and your feedback will help other travellers choose our hotel in the future. Thanks again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews