We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Chose this hotel in the end for location - we walked everywhere Cuba St, waterfront, mt Victoria (easy to achieve in wellington though!). Friendly easy check in, and room was tidy, clean and spacious enough. I'd say a comfortable 3 star hotel - shower curtain a bit average for a supposed 4 star hotel.
Noise wise not a bad spot - regardless where you stay if there is a loud crowd out at 2am the sound will carry. We were on 5th floor.
Good value for price, would stay again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate it. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option and as you said we have a fantastic central location to explore Wellington City. We hope to see you again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

The hotel is near city center. The rooms are spacious and hygiene is good. WIFI is okay. However since the hotel is in the city center it does not have adequate parking facilities. Hence if you are going for a longer stay you need to pay for your parking in public parking area. The hotel does not allow 3 adults in a room. Hence if you are a family of 4 people with one of kid being classified as adult than you need to book another room for them.

The staff was decent.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 868malharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback. The hotel does have rooms that can accommodate 4 people, unfortunately these were already in use during your stay. We appreciate your comments.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

This hotel is centrally located In Wellington close to attractions such as Te Papa & Wellington waterfront. railway station & buses. Clean comfortable rooms & bed, good meals - dinner & breakfast, friendly helpful staff., Tayed here overnight with a group arrived by train & caught ferry next day to Picton

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thanks for your comments, it’s good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option located in the heart of Wellington city and your feedback will help other travellers choose our hotel in the future. Thanks again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

I am not in the habit of giving poor reviews, but on this occasion, I feel compelled to give a fair overview so people know what to expect. The foyer area is quite adequate, and I admit I was shocked when I walked into the bedroom. It was absolutely FREEZING! The bathroom recorded below zero readings, and was an absolute disgrace. This hotel urgently needs an upgrade spent to make it habitable. Each morning at around 5 am, there were builiding works being conducted across the street. I realise this is not the hotels fault, but it added to the intensely unpleasant experience. It was an incredibly miserable experience for 5 days while I was working, and I came away with a shocking flu, given the below zero conditions in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

We were very sorry to hear that your experience was not as it should have been. We do have heaters in every room and they are regularly checked for performance. It is unfortunate that we missed the opportunity to address alternative heating options for you during your stay. Thanks for you feedback it is important to us.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Needed to stay somewhere other than my usual Wellington business haunt. West Plaza is conveniently located within CBD and handy to the waterfront for a morning walk. Room is was quite small but fine for one night. Very clean and comfortable bed

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thanks, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
522 reviews
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,235 reviews
0.8 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 47 in Wellington
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,838 reviews
0.8 km away
Bay Plaza Hotel
Bay Plaza Hotel
#39 of 47 in Wellington
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: €70 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing