We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wellesley Boutique Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rydges Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$130
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$167
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$77
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$113
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Capital View Motor Inn(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
75
235
161
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
235
161
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewste papagreat locationmichael fowler centrewakefield stshower curtaincentral locationfresh milkrubbish truckstriple roomcar parkthe hotel is cleanattending a conferenceacross the roadbreakfast was includedeating placescuba mallbed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The hotel is near city center. The rooms are spacious and hygiene is good. WIFI is okay. However since the hotel is in the city center it does not have adequate parking facilities. Hence if you are going for a longer stay you need to pay for your parking in public parking area. The hotel does not allow 3 adults in a room. Hence if you are a family of 4 people with one of kid being classified as adult than you need to book another room for them.

The staff was decent.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 868malharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback. The hotel does have rooms that can accommodate 4 people, unfortunately these were already in use during your stay. We appreciate your comments.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

This hotel is centrally located In Wellington close to attractions such as Te Papa & Wellington waterfront. railway station & buses. Clean comfortable rooms & bed, good meals - dinner & breakfast, friendly helpful staff., Tayed here overnight with a group arrived by train & caught ferry next day to Picton

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thanks for your comments, it’s good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option located in the heart of Wellington city and your feedback will help other travellers choose our hotel in the future. Thanks again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

I am not in the habit of giving poor reviews, but on this occasion, I feel compelled to give a fair overview so people know what to expect. The foyer area is quite adequate, and I admit I was shocked when I walked into the bedroom. It was absolutely FREEZING! The bathroom recorded below zero readings, and was an absolute disgrace. This hotel urgently needs an upgrade spent to make it habitable. Each morning at around 5 am, there were builiding works being conducted across the street. I realise this is not the hotels fault, but it added to the intensely unpleasant experience. It was an incredibly miserable experience for 5 days while I was working, and I came away with a shocking flu, given the below zero conditions in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

We were very sorry to hear that your experience was not as it should have been. We do have heaters in every room and they are regularly checked for performance. It is unfortunate that we missed the opportunity to address alternative heating options for you during your stay. Thanks for you feedback it is important to us.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Needed to stay somewhere other than my usual Wellington business haunt. West Plaza is conveniently located within CBD and handy to the waterfront for a morning walk. Room is was quite small but fine for one night. Very clean and comfortable bed

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thanks, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Most enjoyable stay. Rooms a little dated but very cozy and comfortable. Bed very very comfortable. Staff could be not more friendly or helpful. Great food and so convenient having it all onsite, especially for conference. Sadly conference rooms dawdy and no external wondows. Perfect location for walking to waterfront, restaurants and shopping

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dibbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for your comments. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews