We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 20 May 2017

The West Plaza is fantastically located.
On Wakefield Street across from Wellington City Council Buildings.
A short stroll to Te Papa, waterfront dining, shopping & Beehive.
Clean well appointed rooms. Friendly staff.
Couldn't fault. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when we visit Wellington.

Room Tip: Had a room at back of hotel so avoided noise from main road.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandyvt1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for West Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Stayed in the West Plazza two nights .First night was just me and booked a double room.. Second night booked a room bigger enough to be able to have my two grandaughters stay the night of the wedding .The wedding was at the boarshedon the waterfront and the West Plazza was very handy .
When I wanted to change rooms it was seamless and my bags were shifted for me .
I was delighted with the very large space I transferred to ..

Room Tip: Just ask and likely they will do what you want
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that we could help with your request. We appreciate your feedback it is important and helps us to continue to provide great service. Thanks, again.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

across the road from the Michael Fowler Centre in Wakefield St so very conveniently situated for conferences, shopping, short walk to Te Papa, and in mid-price range. Very helpful staff and quiet at night

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zbmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it! It will help others to choose our hotel when next in Wellington.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The hotel has a very 80's look to it, the decor is quite tired, however everything worked as it should. Check in was efficient and helpful. I was there for a seminar and they allowed me to check in early which was appreciated. My room was a good size with a comfortable bed and very quiet which I appreciated, it was at the back of the hotel so ask for one of these if you are a light sleeper. My bed was comfortable, the only place to watch tv is from your bed however. Towels and usual toiletries were good, tea and coffee was available in room.
The onsite restaurant's menu was limited however well priced and of good quality, the flat whites were great.
My only real complaint was the smell in the bathroom which appeared to be coming from a drain , eau de piss is never nice and when it was concentrated as the smell was in the morning well it was like a tomcat and let loose...
Cleanliness was average, the hotel staff need to pay attention to the ducts in the bathroom , covered in dust, the bathroom tap leaked and there were dust traps allover that had not been cleaned recently, a two minute job to go over the tops of doors, cupboards mirrors etc. Surfaces that could be seen were clean. I would stay again with the provisio that the bathrooms were not smelly.

Room Tip: The back rooms will be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Paulo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback about the staff, your room and the flat whites at the hotel. We were disappointed to read your negative comments about the bathroom, we are sorry that your stay was not as it should have been. We pride ourselves on the standard of cleanliness at West Plaza Hotel and, as you can see from the many positive reviews, we have a very high standard. Your feedback has been passed directly onto the housekeeping team to investigate further. We appreciate your comments as they help us to improve. If you would like to discuss any of these matters further please do contact the hotel directly.

Thanks again,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

This centrally located hotel is clean and modern with friendly staff and large rooms. TV's and tea and coffee making facilities are in the rooms. The staff kept our bags behind as we explored Wellington on the last day. I don't have anything to fault.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazza656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback. It is always so good to hear when guest have enjoyed their stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments about the location, the friendly staff and the large rooms and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,708 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.9 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: €76 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing