We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Positive”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The hotel has a very 80's look to it, the decor is quite tired, however everything worked as it should. Check in was efficient and helpful. I was there for a seminar and they allowed me to check in early which was appreciated. My room was a good size with a comfortable bed and very quiet which I appreciated, it was at the back of the hotel so ask for one of these if you are a light sleeper. My bed was comfortable, the only place to watch tv is from your bed however. Towels and usual toiletries were good, tea and coffee was available in room.
The onsite restaurant's menu was limited however well priced and of good quality, the flat whites were great.
My only real complaint was the smell in the bathroom which appeared to be coming from a drain , eau de piss is never nice and when it was concentrated as the smell was in the morning well it was like a tomcat and let loose...
Cleanliness was average, the hotel staff need to pay attention to the ducts in the bathroom , covered in dust, the bathroom tap leaked and there were dust traps allover that had not been cleaned recently, a two minute job to go over the tops of doors, cupboards mirrors etc. Surfaces that could be seen were clean. I would stay again with the provisio that the bathrooms were not smelly.

Room Tip: The back rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Paulo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback about the staff, your room and the flat whites at the hotel. We were disappointed to read your negative comments about the bathroom, we are sorry that your stay was not as it should have been. We pride ourselves on the standard of cleanliness at West Plaza Hotel and, as you can see from the many positive reviews, we have a very high standard. Your feedback has been passed directly onto the housekeeping team to investigate further. We appreciate your comments as they help us to improve. If you would like to discuss any of these matters further please do contact the hotel directly.

Thanks again,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

This centrally located hotel is clean and modern with friendly staff and large rooms. TV's and tea and coffee making facilities are in the rooms. The staff kept our bags behind as we explored Wellington on the last day. I don't have anything to fault.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazza656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback. It is always so good to hear when guest have enjoyed their stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments about the location, the friendly staff and the large rooms and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Stayed one night en route to Picton. Found the room very comfortable and clean, had an opening window for fresh air which is a bonus in city hotels. Great location, staff very pleasant and helpful and I guess living outside of the USA I am used to having two taps haha, that comment gave me the best laugh of the day!! Great value for money and would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rear room could possibly be quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were pleasant and helpful, also that your room was comfortable and clean. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location in the heart of Wellington. We appreciate your comments they will help others to choose our hotel when next in Wellington. Thanks again for your positive review.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

The hotel is very old. We stayed three to catch the Ferry to Picton. The rooms are small and no Air-condition. It was a hot day and they got us 2 fans that did not do anything.
The shower is very old and the sink has two faucets one for cold and one for hot. How do get the right temperature not to burn your hands ?
The Location is good. 10 min to the ferry and in downtown Wellington.

Room Tip: NO AC for the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback, we are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location. We appreciate your comments, they help us to make improvements.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

A weekend break in Wellington and we had stayed at the West Plaza before. A great central location. Able to get a carpark on site. Room okay but shower water flows across the floor to the toilet. The TV options are very poor for this standard of hotel. Unfortunately there was a rowdy party somewhere close which meant disturbed sleep until they stopped just before two a.m. Breakfast okay and we were grateful that we could leave our vehicle in the car park until we had finished our Sunday touring around.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed our central location and that you were able to leave your car here while you explored. I am sorry that you had noisy neighbours and found it hard to fall asleep because of this. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
523 reviews
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,236 reviews
0.8 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 47 in Wellington
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,842 reviews
0.8 km away
Bay Plaza Hotel
Bay Plaza Hotel
#39 of 47 in Wellington
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: €69 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing