We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

At Home Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rydges Wellington(Wellington)
US$121
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Gourmet Stay(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$171
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Capital View Motor Inn(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveller rating
76
236
162
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
236
162
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewste papamichael fowler centregreat locationwakefield stshower curtaincentral locationcar parkrubbish trucksthe hotel is cleanacross the roadbreakfast was includedbed was comfortablecuba stwould stay here againinner cityone night stayshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 526 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017

This centrally located hotel is clean and modern with friendly staff and large rooms. TV's and tea and coffee making facilities are in the rooms. The staff kept our bags behind as we explored Wellington on the last day. I don't have anything to fault.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazza656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback. It is always so good to hear when guest have enjoyed their stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments about the location, the friendly staff and the large rooms and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Stayed one night en route to Picton. Found the room very comfortable and clean, had an opening window for fresh air which is a bonus in city hotels. Great location, staff very pleasant and helpful and I guess living outside of the USA I am used to having two taps haha, that comment gave me the best laugh of the day!! Great value for money and would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rear room could possibly be quieter at night
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were pleasant and helpful, also that your room was comfortable and clean. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location in the heart of Wellington. We appreciate your comments they will help others to choose our hotel when next in Wellington. Thanks again for your positive review.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

The hotel is very old. We stayed three to catch the Ferry to Picton. The rooms are small and no Air-condition. It was a hot day and they got us 2 fans that did not do anything.
The shower is very old and the sink has two faucets one for cold and one for hot. How do get the right temperature not to burn your hands ?
The Location is good. 10 min to the ferry and in downtown Wellington.

Room Tip: NO AC for the summer.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank harry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback, we are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location. We appreciate your comments, they help us to make improvements.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

A weekend break in Wellington and we had stayed at the West Plaza before. A great central location. Able to get a carpark on site. Room okay but shower water flows across the floor to the toilet. The TV options are very poor for this standard of hotel. Unfortunately there was a rowdy party somewhere close which meant disturbed sleep until they stopped just before two a.m. Breakfast okay and we were grateful that we could leave our vehicle in the car park until we had finished our Sunday touring around.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed our central location and that you were able to leave your car here while you explored. I am sorry that you had noisy neighbours and found it hard to fall asleep because of this. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

3.6 star for me , Yes found the Hotel a little Souless was a weeee bit exy for what the room offered, 1 thing a just realized most Hotels do not have A/C , no idea what happens on hot days , we arrived , room was a little warm . Reception were excellent , low 4 s for them , big plus is its location , 10 min easy walk to Te Papa , Middle of the City , around 15 min walk to Oriental Bay , all in all a reasonable stay . overall the room was well cleaned , Room staff seemed good

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keezaTugun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thanks for your comments. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location in the centre of Wellington. It was nice to read that the reception staff were very helpful. We appreciate your feedback.

Thanks,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews