We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfactory!”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Stayed one night en route to Picton. Found the room very comfortable and clean, had an opening window for fresh air which is a bonus in city hotels. Great location, staff very pleasant and helpful and I guess living outside of the USA I am used to having two taps haha, that comment gave me the best laugh of the day!! Great value for money and would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rear room could possibly be quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were pleasant and helpful, also that your room was comfortable and clean. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location in the heart of Wellington. We appreciate your comments they will help others to choose our hotel when next in Wellington. Thanks again for your positive review.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017

The hotel is very old. We stayed three to catch the Ferry to Picton. The rooms are small and no Air-condition. It was a hot day and they got us 2 fans that did not do anything.
The shower is very old and the sink has two faucets one for cold and one for hot. How do get the right temperature not to burn your hands ?
The Location is good. 10 min to the ferry and in downtown Wellington.

Room Tip: NO AC for the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback, we are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location. We appreciate your comments, they help us to make improvements.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

A weekend break in Wellington and we had stayed at the West Plaza before. A great central location. Able to get a carpark on site. Room okay but shower water flows across the floor to the toilet. The TV options are very poor for this standard of hotel. Unfortunately there was a rowdy party somewhere close which meant disturbed sleep until they stopped just before two a.m. Breakfast okay and we were grateful that we could leave our vehicle in the car park until we had finished our Sunday touring around.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed our central location and that you were able to leave your car here while you explored. I am sorry that you had noisy neighbours and found it hard to fall asleep because of this. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option situated in the heart of Wellington. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

3.6 star for me , Yes found the Hotel a little Souless was a weeee bit exy for what the room offered, 1 thing a just realized most Hotels do not have A/C , no idea what happens on hot days , we arrived , room was a little warm . Reception were excellent , low 4 s for them , big plus is its location , 10 min easy walk to Te Papa , Middle of the City , around 15 min walk to Oriental Bay , all in all a reasonable stay . overall the room was well cleaned , Room staff seemed good

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keezaTugun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thanks for your comments. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option with an excellent location in the centre of Wellington. It was nice to read that the reception staff were very helpful. We appreciate your feedback.

Thanks,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed from the 8/317 - 14/3/17 so we could attend a wedding. Location was perfect. the staff were always helpful and friendly (one guy on reception even punched another hole in my sling back shoe strap for me)!
Our room was worked well for 3 of us and the domestic staff were fantastic with their cleaning and attitude.
The breakfasts were great and always topped up the dishes.
The only criticism would be perhaps the pricing of the dinner main courses didnt equate to the portion size. Desserts for $14/15 were also very small.
I had 3 very small scoops of icecream for that price and my partner had the cheesecake which was also very minimal.
Wait staff were all very good as well.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thanks for your comments. We appreciate your feedback about the friendly staff, the location and the hotel breakfast. I will pass on your comments regarding dinner to our Head Chef, to help make improvements.

Thanks,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
538 reviews
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 47 in Wellington
179 reviews
0.3 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.2 km away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: €85 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing