We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive - but safe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taupo Bungy

Taupo Bungy
Ranked #7 of 52 Outdoor Activities in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The North Island's most popular bungy jump is a real blast. For an exhilarating experience why not try a water touch? We specialise in getting people wet, whether you'd rather a hand splash or full body dunk, we endeavour to deliver a refreshing adventure.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive - but safe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The price of this attraction was a bit more expensive than some of the New Zealand bungys - but they do have location and view on their side.

The location is picturesque. I did a single bungy, and I felt very safe with the harness and leg straps, and multiple connection points. The team were pretty friendly and the video was easy to show to people back home since it was on a USB stick and not just a DVD.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    80
    15
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Been there, did it, wanna do it all over again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We have been to Taupo Bungy last month and I must admit that I was a bit shaky right before the leap. But the views, the water touch and the free fall - totally loved it and must admit I wanna do it all over again and probably even from greater heights! 1 item crossed off bucket list!
Here is the link to my full review on the blog and you can also find the bungy jump photo gallery and videos!
http://escape.stills360.com/taupo-bungy-jump-new-zealand/

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pratibha_stills360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TAUPO BUNGY Jump.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

They are the Best jump on the North island. the River view was is beautiful. the staff are very professional, safe and are happy to answer all your questions. Apparently they retire the bungy cord after so many jumps. Not on whether it looks worn. They have a goodclip checking routine and 2 people doing it, separately. ( @ people checking at a different time, Not at the same time. My daughter did it. She was slightly dizzy for a short while and a little the next day. Do it. It is all over so quickly. the worst part is wating to be buckled up.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank mmac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgetaupobungy, Director of Sales at Taupo Bungy, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Hi mmac54,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. I am glad your daughter enjoyed her bungy jump with us.

Just to put any concerns about the bungy cord at bay, it is true we retire each cord after it has done 500 jumps. However, the cords are checked continuously every day - from each morning they are put our ready for use; and following every jump, as the jump operator pulls the cord up by hand. If at anytime our crew thinks the bungy cord should be retired early, it will be.

Bungy cords can often look worn or frayed, to the untrained eye! Along the length of the cord, there are areas that may look frayed, but are actually lengths of rubber used to bind the entirety of the cord, which have been tied off. As Taupo Bungy jump masters, make all of our cords on site, they are well trained in knowing what a good one looks like.

I hope this explains a few of the misconceptions about bungy cords.
Cheers,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

My 13 year old son went on it. Good and professional crew. He had a good time although $150 for a pop, not counting the pricey pictures and videos is not for an everyday affair.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chee Kong W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must be one of the best located Bungy Jumps in the world, Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

If you're in Taupo its a must do! I am fortunate enough to have experienced most of the NZ bungy's and this is way up there. My girlfriend, who was not at all keen made this her first, and loved it. I would recommend this to anyone, especially to those who haven't jumped before and are a bit hesitant. The staff are welcoming and will help ease the nerves if need be. Great day out, and what a view...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JonBarrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taupo Bungy also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Taupo Bungy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing