We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely House in Beautiful Location”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We stayed at Kauri Point for 4 nights on our tour of New Zealand. The house has beEn fully modernised by Robert the owner to a very high standard. Rooms are large very well furnished and with lovely decor.The house is set in beautiful grounds with grand views of Tuahara. The house and has extensive decking with lots of different seating areas to enjoy the sun.Robert and Gail were the perfect hosts and could not do enough for you. Gail ran us into town on 2 occasions (15 mins from town). They were very generous to us as guests serving little extras like wine cake and sweet things.
This was an excellent guest house with wonderful facilities and a lovely six acre garden with beautiful trees.
Guest lounge is large and spacious with a large full screen TV where we watched the Austarlian tennis final.
All in all a very good experience which we recommend to all.

Room Tip: We had the largest room at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackostandrews2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stayed here for two nights during an extended 6 1/2 week holiday to New Zealand, the facilities and location are very good.
Gail and Robert made us feel welcome and the breakfast was excellent.
If you are in the Taupo region then this is the place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisNassington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Everything about the accommodation had been thoughtfully done. From individual outside table & chairs to towels for beach to sweets in the room & all sorts of different coffees & teas. The delicious prawn accompaniment to drinks brought to our room, but actually enjoyed in the spacious social area with other guests; watching the rugby with plenty of beer; fantastic breakfast & info/advice when required, it was all brilliant! Added to this, the setting is beautiful & with a delightful garden to explore. Perhaps you can tell, we loved it........the best place we stayed in in NZ by far, during 7 weeks, all helped by a 1/3rd off offer!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Gail and Robert made us feel very welcome. We had a beautiful room with ensuite shower and a private outside patio to sit and enjoy our coffee/drinks. The gardens are lovely to wander around and there is a huge verandah/patio to enjoy. A good place for a few drinks before going out for our evening meal in town. A very comfortable place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Gail and Robert's home is conveniently located about 10 minutes from downtown in a beautiful peaceful area. Their home and our room was so very large and welcoming. We loved the decor, a very unique style that was cheery, colorful and felt homey and warm. Everything was spotless and Gail has thought of every detail. There is a small kitchenette down the hall with tea, coffee, fruit and brownies always available. The breakfast options were delicious, especially poached eggs with hollandaise sauce and salmon with lots of fruit. We took advantage of the hot tub on our second night and enjoyed counting stars in the quiet of the night. The gardens are very well planned and we enjoyed just walking about the property. Gail and Robert are very friendly and we really enjoyed meeting them. It was one of the highlights of trip because we felt so pampered. I can't say enough about how nice it was and what a great hosts Gail and Robert were.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharonle1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
6.7 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
4.9 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,180 reviews
14.8 km away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#1 of 42 in Taupo
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#2 of 42 in Taupo
280 reviews
9.8 km away
Huka Lodge
Huka Lodge
#3 of 42 in Taupo
297 reviews
10.7 km away
Tauhara Sunrise Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: €179 - €220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing