We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fabulous”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We came from the Tongariro NP to stay at this most stunning place. Located only a short drive from Taupo on a hill, nestled in a beautiful and most stunning garden park ..with great views - a perfect place to relax and enjoy NZ, with all luxury and personal character we could imagine. The hosts Gail and Robert are wonderful and made us feel a home. Gail offered to stay for dinner, and we had a wonderful evening with them. Breakfast was excellent as well, we did not miss anything and the coffee is outstanding ! Our room was very generous and we had all we needed, even more. And, even enough sockets for our various phone, camera and computer plugs ... a nice change ... We could only stay for one night, but if you can we recommend to stay for a minimum 2 nights, There is heaps of things you can do in and around Taupo and this B&B is the best place to return to ...

Room Tip: Twin or double? The double bed is very generous and our bed linens were splitted for 2 persons - pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank betti-1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely house! Gail was really helpful and nice company during breakfast along with another couple that was also staying at Kauri Point! We definitely relax and enjoyed! The breakfast was something delicious and cooked fresh for us! What you need more?
If you pass by Taupo you should stay at Gail's

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Kauri Piont is a lovely property, well kept and well maintained and in alovely location. We stayed in the Ngatorioranga Suite and the accommodation was first class; our room was spacious, the bed large and very comfortable and included a comfortable seating area, the bathroom very well equipped and provided those little extras that really make a difference - such as nail varnish!, and the room opened onto a fantastic decking area with a great view. Gail and Robert were excellent hosts - friendly, helpful and gave us good tips on what and where to visit. And, we had the pleasure of breakfasts cooked by each of them on different days and shared the table with other guests. We were also invited to join our hosts with their friends for a great convivial evening. It was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We stayed at Kauri Point for one night for our Anniversary. Gail & Robert were very welcoming & Buston too.
We enjoyed our evening meal and watched the rugby with the other guests, Robert & his son.
We stayed in the Aratiatia room, which was lovely and the bathroom was great, very tastefully done.
The surroundings were lovely and well kept, really nice sitting out on the big deck in the sun with a book.
Robert made us a delicious cooked breakfast, well done Robert.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone wanting a bit of luxury in Taupo.

Room Tip: I think if I were to go again I would choose the room facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank raro20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We stayed at Kauri Point for just one night, and wished we had stayed for a few days. The property is stunning!. The deck off our bedrooms was so inviting despite the cool weather that I sat out for a few minutes enjoying the country sounds and smells.

Our room was fabulous and spacious. Excellent bed, good seating area in the room, desk to write emails from.

The bathroom was the most luxurious so far on our trip. Excellent towels, 2 good sized sinks, large shower, lots of space.

Gail, our hostess, offered us an excellent breakfast the next morning. She was most helpful in directing us to wonderful activities for our day on our way before driving to Napier.

Room Tip: We got the room with windows on 2 sides and sliding door onto the deck. All rooms have access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 7didi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Thank you so much for taking some time to write a review of your recent stay with us, on for your lovely comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
We are very proud to announce that Kauri Point has been ranked as the 2nd highest-rated accommodation in the Waikato Region in the Trivago Awards 2017, 12th in New Zealand and 5th in the North Island. An award we are very pleased to receive.
 Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for helping us to achieve rewards such as this. Without our guest reviews we would be unable to receive such recognition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
6.7 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
4.9 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,227 reviews
5.8 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#1 of 42 in Taupo
214 reviews
1.2 km away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#2 of 42 in Taupo
284 reviews
9.8 km away
Huka Lodge
Huka Lodge
#3 of 42 in Taupo
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: €107 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing