We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas”

Governors Eatery & Bar
Ranked #48 of 192 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$29
Description: Governors Eatery + Bar is flooded with natural light from its large, street facing windows and focusses on regional cuisine that highlights the best local produce from the Taranaki region. Featuring indoor and outdoor dining areas, Governors is the perfect place to relax with a meal accompanied by a fine New Zealand wine, a specialty cocktail or refreshing beverage. Our Governors team would like to invite you to an unprecedented culinary experience and a true New Zealand service from the moment you step into the restaurant or bar. Lucasz Zielinski - Internationally trained Executive Chef welcomes you to experience a dining experience "like no other". Breakfast from 6am – 10am, lunch from 11am to 3 pm, dinner from 6pm till 10pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Governors Eatery + Bar is flooded with natural light from its large, street facing windows and focusses on regional cuisine that highlights the best local produce from the Taranaki region. Featuring indoor and outdoor dining areas, Governors is the perfect place to relax with a meal accompanied by a fine New Zealand wine, a specialty cocktail or refreshing beverage. Our Governors team would like to invite you to an unprecedented culinary experience and a true New Zealand service from the moment you step into the restaurant or bar. Lucasz Zielinski - Internationally trained Executive Chef welcomes you to experience a dining experience "like no other". Breakfast from 6am – 10am, lunch from 11am to 3 pm, dinner from 6pm till 10pm.
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We were staying at the Novotel over Christmas and chose to eat in. Christmas Eve we had a lovely meal, risotto and croquet entree delicious. Pork and chicken salad also delicious. Great service, thank you Rebecka and a lovely evening. Went back for our evening meal on Christmas Day and we had the same menu from the night before, not a hint of Christmas anywhere. Calamari was average but the main meal of steak was to die for, gurnard fish was nice, finished with a nice cocktail. Would eat here again.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Diannemh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenna s, Manager at Governors Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Hi There

Thank you first of all for staying with us, and thank you for leaving such a great review about your dinning experience, we had a huge Christmas lunch in the restaurant which is why we decided to not do Christmas dinner. I am glad you enjoyed your meals and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

A fabulous stay at the Novotel in New Plymouth. It is complimentd very well by the in-house restaurant Governors Eatery and Bar. Also great service from Trinity but especially Alhanis awesome food thanks again.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank oldmanonthepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenna s, Manager at Governors Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hi There
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. Alhanis and Trinity are great, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We were a party of friends having a pre -Christmas party and were all delighted with the presentation and the succulent meal served. The pavlova presentation was as good if not better than anywhere else in New Zealand I have tried. The addition of miniature mint leaves amongst the beautifully diced varied fruit was a real hit . The meals came out together and the overall presentation, excellent.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vomo2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenna s, Manager at Governors Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hi There
Thank you for choosing us to spend your Christmas function with. I am glad you loved the pav ( its my fav too). We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Love the new summer menu, flavours and presentation superb. Highly recommend the summer chocolate sphere with a glass of the Amisfield Rose. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenna s, Manager at Governors Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Happy Birthday! and thank you for spending it with us! I am glad you enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you again soon for some nibbles, sunshine and great wine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here meal was great hot well presented good wine only thing lacking was staff needed a little training would eat here again

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenna s, Manager at Governors Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

HI Pat W, Thanks for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your meal. Training in the restaurant is ongoing and consistent, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Governors Eatery & Bar also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Governors Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing