We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at gusto restaurant cafe and bar new plymouth”
Review of Gusto Restaurant

Gusto Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 191 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gusto Restaurant is a new spacious dining experience right on the waterfront, with plenty of deck space for outdoor dining on fine days, or warm, cosy waterfront dining indoors on cooler days or nights. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch or dinner with plenty of parking available. Our chefs source top quality ingredients fresh daily to ensure our meals are enjoyed by everyone, and they come back to Gusto time and again.
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Fantastic lunch yesterday, my wife and I both had the free range chicken breast open sandwich served on toasted garlic ciabatta bread with camembert cheese and a fresh Gusto salad, finished with kumara thins and hollandaise sauce. Couldn’t fault it, Service was friendly atmosphere was fantastic, we’ll be definitely going back here. I don’t comment on this site normally, but I did enjoy Gusto so much I had to share.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FrancisP1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear Francis,
It was a pleasure having you both join us for lunch.
Our Open Chicken Sandwich is something of a menu staple and even though we often introduce new and exciting things, many of our regulars choose to have it time and time again.
Thank you so much for making an extra effort to post your review.
We really appreciate it when I guests go out of their way to do so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 180 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2016

Gusto is a wonderful restaurant. Staff are friendly, service is great. I had Pork Belly and I can tell you it was so soft and tender and a bigger piece than what I expected.

I didn't have entree or dessert so can't comment on those but if the main meal is anything to go by then I would imagine they would be great as well. Friends had the fish meal and were impressed also about the quality and service and would have the same meal again.

Restaurant is open plan with subdued lighting. Restroom area very clean.

This is on par with any restaurant that I have been to in Melbourne.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phoebe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear Phoebe,
How nice it is to read that you enjoyed our friendly staff, great service and yummy Pork Belly! Our portions are generous so it is often a mission to try everything one would like. Perhaps next time you might like to try an entree to leave room for one of our delicious
desserts? We are stoked to hear you rate us up there with restaurants you have dined at in Melbourne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Great place. Great food great staff. Lovely setting. We had a table where were all weren't squashed in which is a bonus.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rwilms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Thank you for choosing Gusto for your Birthday Lunch, the out-look during the day is ever-changing. Unless we are exceptionally busy we always try to give our booked customers the best views and plenty of space.
We are pleased to hear that you appreciated this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

A great wee place for a meal. But you must book in advance. We were seated quickly in a lovely spot overlooking the water. Staff were friendly and helpful, as our order changed a bit. Our meals came out almost all together and reasonable in price. Like the drinks all tasted really good. A great get together spot

Thank Heppy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear Happy C
We are all delighted to hear that you had a memorable family brunch. Gusto is the perfect place for family get-togethers!
We are always happy to oblige if our guests need to alter their meals.
Our menu is extensive so at times it is a challenge to plate large tables in a timely fashion and all at once. It is good to hear we managed to do so on your occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Excellent setting great waitress.
Coffee best had for a long time.
Spiced pumpkin soup was inedible far too spicy. Wedges lovely.

Thank M D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry the spicy pumpkin soup was too spicy for you.
We have informed the kitchen for future reference.
We are however pleased to hear that we hit the mark with everything else

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing