We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in New Plymouth”
Review of The Orangery

The Orangery
Ranked #4 of 179 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I'm loathe to write a glowing review of this restaurant for fear I'll lose the ability to get a table anytime I want. It's old school fine dining where tradition is not lost and the quality is evident in every mouthful. The Flambé style dishes are amazing and the service is first class. Of course the décor is due a polish up but I'm not eating the wallpaper! Could also do with a few more choices in the upper range of wine. The Flambé steak for two is a must have along with the Crepes. 5 Star!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager0, General Manager at The Orangery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks for the great review, The Orangery is a bit of a secret - we will always find you a table....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Very nice menu selection , excellent service , staff a nice mixture of Young and very experienced .
Must be popular as we know many of our age group keep returning

    • Service
Thank trishandcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager0, General Manager at The Orangery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks for the good comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to this resturant for 14 years and the food quality has never changed .The staff are long serving and very efficient and welcoming.We travel with business and leisure all around the World and New Zealand and this would be in our top 10 but our most favourite in N Z.Whilst it's not way out in he modern world it's beautifully cooked food and all meals have lovely seasonal vegetables or salad that comes with it.The meat and seafood are A1 quality.Whenever we visit which is usually 2 nights every 8 weeks I always have the Flambé Crepes .Its a bit of a joke with the staff.Highly recommend. This is an update on my other reveiws of this place.We never consider another place in New Plymouth as nothing we have tried comes up to their standard.

Thank susiepnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager0, General Manager at The Orangery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thjanks for the good comments, nice to hear you still enjoy those Flambe Crepes....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We recently ate at the orangery in New Plymouth, the meal and service was out standing. It was the best steaks this town has to offer.
Wonderful staff and incredible food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank madoof34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager0, General Manager at The Orangery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks for the good feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

An excellent choice for dinner on our recent trip to New Plymouth. Highly recommend the Lamb - delicious! Thanks for the great service :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManager0, General Manager at The Orangery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks for the good comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orangery also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to The Orangery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing