We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious buffet, excellent quality”

Marbles Buffet Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 181 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dining will never be the same after your experience the magic of a night at Marbles Buffet. A huge variety, the choice will bewilder. Freshly baked breads, seafood, carvery, flavours from around the world a fabulous array of desserts, cheeses... The food is unbelievable, but the atmosphere needs to be experienced to be believed. Book now, and experience the magic of Marbles!
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We come up to New Plymouth once a year, every year. We always make a point of coming to Marbles as it's always great quality food and makes for a great evening. Our trip this year was just as good as other years. They have a wonderful range of food, with seafood (huge range of different seafood that always tastes very fresh) , salads, pastas, stirfrys, curries, fried food (fries, springrolls and nuggets), various cheeses, hot ham and a new area where you can design your own mini pizza and have it made for you. Everything they serve here is well worth a try as it is all exceptional quality. The food is always restocked on time so you don't need to be scraping up the remains from the bottom of the dish. The desserts are good. A wide variety of them too which seem to be a huge hit with all diners. The staff are nice, friendly and very good at clearing plates away quickly. This place has a very family friendly environment with lots of kids with balloons around.

2  Thank briennarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback.
See you next year.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I hadn't been here for 15 year so wanted to take my family along as we now live in Northland.
It's a great family restaurant and the kids loved it.
I thought it was a little over priced, actually it was quite expensive. $93 for an adult and 2 kids with on 2 drinks.
The food was nice but quite bland and obviously catered for the average palette.
I'd go back but would look at other options in New Plymouth as well.

Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Hi Warren,
Thanks for joining us with your family.
It's always great to have Taranaki's ambassadors back home from the winterless north!
Even though we are one of the country's most popular restaurants, with a huge selection of dishes (changing nightly) on offer, the chef's station is always happy to be tested with the more adventurous palates.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Can only speak on behalf of the buffet breakfast and that was very good. Lots of variety and good setting.

Thank G-DoggyRulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Thanks for joining us for breakfast, and for your feedback.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

The restaurant is amazing. We were staying in The Devon Hotel, but the buffet is obviously popular with locals and guest from other hotels and motels nearby.
A really big selection. A fresh modern restaurant. We stuck with all the foods on display, and didn't have enough room to ask the chef to cook something to order - maybe next time. We had one of the best meals. We also got chatting to some other guests on nearby tables - we've only done that in Ireland....but, the relaxed atmosphere lends itself to chatting with staff and guests alike.
We will be back!!

2  Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Chaotic atmosphere, seriously marginal food. Overpriced unless your in it for the volume. Margaritas are worst you'll find in the country.

Thank DAH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Hi DAH64 - if your review is genuine and you did join us, please make contact. I'm incredibly proud of our team, the meals we serve, and the atmosphere here. Also, we mix lots of cocktails, but it is some considerable time since we served a margarita....there are some fabulous variations we can put together.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marbles Buffet Restaurant also viewed

 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Marbles Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing