We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Restaurant (Buffet) - LOVE it!”

Marbles Buffet Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 191 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dining will never be the same after your experience the magic of a night at Marbles Buffet. A huge variety, the choice will bewilder. Freshly baked breads, seafood, carvery, flavours from around the world a fabulous array of desserts, cheeses... The food is unbelievable, but the atmosphere needs to be experienced to be believed. Book now, and experience the magic of Marbles!
Reviewed 1 January 2017

The restaurant is amazing. We were staying in The Devon Hotel, but the buffet is obviously popular with locals and guest from other hotels and motels nearby.
A really big selection. A fresh modern restaurant. We stuck with all the foods on display, and didn't have enough room to ask the chef to cook something to order - maybe next time. We had one of the best meals. We also got chatting to some other guests on nearby tables - we've only done that in Ireland....but, the relaxed atmosphere lends itself to chatting with staff and guests alike.
We will be back!!

2  Thank JackT2472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Chaotic atmosphere, seriously marginal food. Overpriced unless your in it for the volume. Margaritas are worst you'll find in the country.

Thank DAH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Hi DAH64 - if your review is genuine and you did join us, please make contact. I'm incredibly proud of our team, the meals we serve, and the atmosphere here. Also, we mix lots of cocktails, but it is some considerable time since we served a margarita....there are some fabulous variations we can put together.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

But the reception we got was strange/shocking to say the least. We were 2 guys staying in the same room at the Devon Hotel. The woman on the restaurant reception desk asked us if we were sleeping together.I found her comments rude and unnecessary. We were both embarrassed.
Because of her comments i give the Marbles an overall poor rating, otherwise the setting, food service from the waiting staff etc..was faultless. It was a shame the evening was marred by that incident.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank smalloscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Thanks SO much for your feedback - I'm thrilled you found everything faultless, but refer to an offensive comment by one of our team. I'm so sorry!
To make things worse, we've been unable to find anyone who can recall (or would allow) such offensive talk.
I'd appreciate a call, so I could take appropriate action.
Many thanks and regards,
Peter Tennent
06 7599099

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Marbles Buffet is located in the middle of The Devon Hotel. It's obviously really popular with locals. Reception booked our table when we arrived. We had a drink in the small adjoining bar before having dinner. A lovely young lady looked after us and told us all about the hotel and town.
Then we went to our table. The atmosphere was electric. It's an extensive buffet with smiling helpers everywhere to look after us. My wife is a foody, and was blown away.
I just love food - and this was great! We will be dining here again next time we are in town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fryerfam491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thanks for your feedback, and for joining us.
I hope that next journey to New Plymouth is not too far away.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Somebody complained in these comments,about staff being in a hurry to take away their plates. I think they would be the first to complain of having used plates on their tables. The service was fairly unobtrusive and friendly, in a relaxed Kiwi way. The food choice was really exceptional. A mid week suburban buffet in a mid size town in, let's be honest, in the Kiwi tourist sense of the phrase, the middle of nowhere. From that point of view, all was exceptional. From any point of view, everything ticked the box marked plus! Our hotel, across the road, served a nice meal the night before, but I would go back to Marbles the next time I am in New Plymouth.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank celticlegendltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thanks for joining us at Marbles Buffet, and here in New Plymouth, Taranaki.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marbles Buffet Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Marbles Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing