We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't get better than this”
Review of El Condor Restaurante - CLOSED

El Condor Restaurante
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Run by a lovely, genuine, talented couple, I have eaten at El Condor many a time and adored the pizzas and pasta available.
Not only does Paul make the best pasta and pizza, he is a talented artist - check out the mini gallery upstairs of some of his wonderful work.
Catherine is a ray of sunshine. It's impossible to not be happy around her, she is polite and open to every customer so it's no wonder they have a large and loyal group of regulars. I can't rave enough about this great place. If you haven't been there, it's a must!

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmeliaRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Small but great food and very helpful couple running it, probably highlight of our eating in New Plymouth, can take your own wine and large supermarket nearby which sells wine. Not a gooble and go type - but we found it really great (we an over 60's couple in no hurry).

Date of visit: July 2014
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a lovely takeaway pasta and calzone. Great value and good service. Would definitely go back again for a dinner one night.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolD782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the street this place looks nothing special - even the interior is a little plain and wouldn't win any awards for presentation but the food is fabulous, full of flavour, well cooked, unpretentious. The service was good, wine list varied - we chose a lovely Argentinian red. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for good wholesome food at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

El Condor is our new favorite restaurant in New Plymouth. Having lived in and visited large cities around the world, it's exactly the kind of place I usually find missing in a small town - great food, little space, not overly concerned about decor, great music, def not pretentious, personal friendly service from staff, and competitive prices. Since there's not much competition here in NP, that means reasonable-inexpensive prices for freshly made, artisan food. THAT is what keeps my husband and I coming back.

I also went with a group of girlfriends last night and we had a ball. We all tried the specials: I had a deliciously creamy and tasty risotto with mushrooms and chorizo, friends had the sweet chili empanadas which were flaky light and tasty, and also other pasta dishes they thought were fantastic. Three of us ordered their heavenly chocolate mousse cake, and one yummy creme brulee. Everything was fabulous.

Great for couples, fun for a night out with friends.

* Psssst, their takeaway menu is a screaming deal. *

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelpanda56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Condor Restaurante also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing