We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
142
56
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
56
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews joe's garage guest lounge boutique hotel restaurant downstairs complimentary bottled water no lift the hotel manager great decor small hotel eclectic art great hotel reading room small room shared lounge glass door overnight stay central location
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Rooms are smallish but very nice, fresh and clean. Have 2 chairs and very nice shower/toilet, TV, fridge and microwave and friend's room had a small table. Beautifully decorated lounge with reading chairs and TV. Whole place has very tasteful European decor. Nice location on Main Street with plenty of restaurants in walking distance. We walked to Beach promenade evening and morning 2 or 3 blocks down. Overall we would strongly recommend for a lovely base. Also a laundry and dryer room which looks free to use (we didn't need it) and has a clean spare toilet.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank grayburgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We booked last minute and The State exceeded our expectations. It is well appointed and surprisingly quiet for somewhere so central. Staff were extremely helpful and the room had everything we needed including a really comfortable bed. The highlight however was the decor and artroom throughout the hotel including in the lounge adjacent to our room which gave an overall feeling of a luxurious space to relax in. Will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizlj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The location was above a restaurant that played unrelenting loud music from 7-8am to 12:30-1.00am every day! The bed felt as though it had roll together which results in now chiropractic appointment. The customer service was atrocious, three nights and four days with no visibility of any staff except the cleaner who was lovely. Reception was talking to someone in an intercom who came across patronising and lacked in service excellence. Even knowing when we would arrive and when check out time is, no one bothered to make the effort to speak to us, no contact whatsoever. Pick your keys up off the desk and leave them there when you go. The bathroom was ridiculously small and was really the size of a toilet not toilet and shower. The water pressure in the shower was a disgrace.
Exceed expectations? What an absolute joke and a complete rip off, not worth even half the nightly rate.
Would never stay again and would advise people to steer clear!

Room tip: Just don't stay at all.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerM3308FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thestate, Manager at The State Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Hi there
Im really you didnt enjoy your stay at the Hotel. Id just like to address a couple of the issues that you mentioned.
It was a very big weekend for New Plymouth as we had the Tattoo & Art Festival of which ourselves and the Black Harp are sponsors. I assumed most of our guests were here for that reason and thus would find the vibe exciting and may excuse some of the noise that came from below as they extended their opening time to cater for all the out of towners.
The bed situation though is surprising as we purchased top of the range beds two years ago and have always been commended on how comfortable they are. The bathrooms are small and I can appreciate your comments there. We are relooking at the water pressure in that room but were totally unaware that there was an issue, in fact we just had the plumbers in checking each rooms showers prior to the big weekend.
Our intercom system whilst it may seem impersonal has worked quite well. I actually live on the same floor as the rooms and am the cleaner so am always about also there is a phone on the reception desk and in the rooms as a point of contact if necessary, upon checkout people usually pick up the reception phone and I pop down.
Im very sorry if I offended you in any way it was not my intention at all.
Kind regards Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We recently stayed at the State Hotel and found it a pleasant surprise. Beautifully decorated room, central and at a very reasonable price :-) Central location to a range of different bars and cafes on Devon Street East. Thank you for making our stay some wonderful!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 620courtneyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

well appointed clean room. lovely touch with the complimentary bottled water. also like the crockery and cutlery supplied even though was only a double room. nice and small so nice and quiet. lovely artwork throughout and a nice quiet comfortable lounge room to relax and socialise in. very friendly staff and very clean.

Room tip: because so close to town could be a bit noisy saturday night. we stayed midweek
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews