We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
110
95
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
95
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadspa poollemon streetrear entrancequeen studiocomfortable stayroad noisesky channelsweek stayground floor unitquiet roomheat pumpowners were friendlyshort stayfree wifirooms are comfortablethoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed in 16 Northgate Motor Lodge only for one night. We were planning to trek the Taranaki the next day and come back there also for the second night but it was raining (heavily) so we cancelled our plan and drove on to Wellington. Despite that, our brief stay in this motel was really comfortable and we were happy that we found this place. The girl in the reception was very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome from the first minute. We got a room closest to the street (that is actually a main artery in New Plymouth) but the noise at night was acutally minimal. Maybe it was the heavy rain that muffled all other sounds :)
The room itself was very clean and tidy and it seemed also quite new. Flat screen tv had enough channels and wifi was fast. As we were on the ground floor, we could park our car right outside our window. Due to the weather we did not spend much time in the city but there were many shops and some restaurants close by. All in all a great experience so I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again if ever in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thankyou for your most positive review following your stay with us. The spacious super king studios are very quiet with the double glazing windows. Perhaps the next time you visit New Plymouth you will get to enjoy more outdoors activities. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Overnight visit to NP and this place suited me well. Great to have full Sky channels, great free wifi, comfy bed, warm heat pump, and a very quiet room. Kitchen had an ant invasion by the morning but this is NZ, that happens a lot! Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kerie5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Hello and thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are really pleased that the unit was all you required for your stay. Yes, with all the rain we've had this winter the ants can be a bother. Plus they like any bit of sugar or sweetness left behind by guests while you sleep! Sorry about the ants... We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Always enjoy our stay here at the Northgate Lodge. Clean,comfortable and such lovely customer service. Rooms are great size and have everything you need. Private and pretty quiet also. Loved our stay, thanks again for hosting us will see you next time :)

Room Tip: Close to town,beaches and all! Great size rooms and best customer service
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MokoiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hello and thankyou for choosing to stay with us again. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the super king studio, as there is more space for a longer stay. Thankyou for the most positive review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We stayed there for one night and found the place clean, comfortable and convenient. Staff was helpful and effective. We ordered breakfast (bacon and eggs) and it was quite good; served in the room at the appointed time.

Room Tip: Room in the middle of the complex was well asolated
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RamiroG747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Hello and thankyou for your most positive review following your stay with us. We are pleased that the accommodation offered what you required. We hope to see you in New Plymouth again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Always excellent, great service and facilities.
Great value for money, friendly staff and very comfortable.
Rooms well appointed with cooking facilities which is great when staying for several nights.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scotthorniblow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Hello and thankyou so much for your most positive review. We are always happy to hear that our regular corporate guests can stay away from home and be well looked after by the owners. We will see you again soon. Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews