We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All black match”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

What a lovely warm comfortable motel, spotless clean, rooms made up daily great place and New Plymouth is a great city- highly recommend from two poms.
Trip advisor keeps on asking me to say more ( ballache) it's great, it's good, it's fantabulous

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hello and thankyou for your most positive review. We are really pleased that you stay in New Plymouth was such a great one. We hope to see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed in 16 Northgate Motor Lodge only for one night. We were planning to trek the Taranaki the next day and come back there also for the second night but it was raining (heavily) so we cancelled our plan and drove on to Wellington. Despite that, our brief stay in this motel was really comfortable and we were happy that we found this place. The girl in the reception was very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome from the first minute. We got a room closest to the street (that is actually a main artery in New Plymouth) but the noise at night was acutally minimal. Maybe it was the heavy rain that muffled all other sounds :)
The room itself was very clean and tidy and it seemed also quite new. Flat screen tv had enough channels and wifi was fast. As we were on the ground floor, we could park our car right outside our window. Due to the weather we did not spend much time in the city but there were many shops and some restaurants close by. All in all a great experience so I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again if ever in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thankyou for your most positive review following your stay with us. The spacious super king studios are very quiet with the double glazing windows. Perhaps the next time you visit New Plymouth you will get to enjoy more outdoors activities. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Overnight visit to NP and this place suited me well. Great to have full Sky channels, great free wifi, comfy bed, warm heat pump, and a very quiet room. Kitchen had an ant invasion by the morning but this is NZ, that happens a lot! Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kerie5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Hello and thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are really pleased that the unit was all you required for your stay. Yes, with all the rain we've had this winter the ants can be a bother. Plus they like any bit of sugar or sweetness left behind by guests while you sleep! Sorry about the ants... We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Always enjoy our stay here at the Northgate Lodge. Clean,comfortable and such lovely customer service. Rooms are great size and have everything you need. Private and pretty quiet also. Loved our stay, thanks again for hosting us will see you next time :)

Room Tip: Close to town,beaches and all! Great size rooms and best customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mokoia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hello and thankyou for choosing to stay with us again. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the super king studio, as there is more space for a longer stay. Thankyou for the most positive review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We stayed there for one night and found the place clean, comfortable and convenient. Staff was helpful and effective. We ordered breakfast (bacon and eggs) and it was quite good; served in the room at the appointed time.

Room Tip: Room in the middle of the complex was well asolated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ramiro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northgate, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Hello and thankyou for your most positive review following your stay with us. We are pleased that the accommodation offered what you required. We hope to see you in New Plymouth again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.6 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
245 reviews
0.9 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
175 reviews
1.6 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
288 reviews
0.2 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 km away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Northgate Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Address: 16-18 Northgate, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#12 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: €69 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MY SKY HDi (50+ channels, recordable decoders) now in our Super King Studios! Or book a Queen Studio with GUEST SELECT, you be in control of what you'd like to watch!! 23 comfortable non-smoking serviced studio units. Fully equipped with cooking facilities allowing guests to be fully self contained. FREE wireless broadband internet and the use of a business centre. Quiet heat pumps/air conditioners in all studios adds to a comfortable stay throughout the year. Te Henui & Coastal walkway access on our doorstep. Enjoy Pukekura Park, the Bowl of Brooklands and the local beaches all within walking distance. Private and relaxing garden and BBQ area. Complimentary use of bikes, DVD players and a selection of DVDs. Park right outside of your room for easy access and security. Walking distance to supermarkets, takeaway outlets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
16 Northgate Motor Lodge New Plymouth, New Zealand - Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing