We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - highly recommend”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Hamilton, New Zealand
83
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my mother for one night. Beds were wonderful, room modern and clean, and an overall peaceful feeling. From the step out balcony on one side we could see the ocean, on the other the snow capped mountain. Central location, walk to most places. Great service. Only thing to be aware of is the traffic noise from trucks going past, this didn't bother me but if you're sound sensitive for sleep something to be aware of - earplugs completely blocked it out for me. Restaurant also had a great breakfast and good coffee!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This place is on the upper pricey side, however it was perfect for us; right on the waterfront and a wonderful restaurant, Salt. We dined in there both our nights. Their Gluten free friendly menu was a big draw; apparently the chef is celiac and I could tell instantly! Makes such a difference. Wonderful meat and fish, sides, desserts...and add in the excellently trained waitressing and managers plus wine you've got the perfect formula. The ambience in the curve shaped restaurant adds to it, it was v busy and had a buzz even mid week. Would suggest booking. The views are lovely too of the sea. The hotel room is very smart, very comfy bed. Would definitely stay here again, v handy to all Museums, shops etc. we drove short distance to beautiful Pukekura Park, the changeable weather added to the fun! The waterfront walk/cycle way is great too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KiwiKim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight. Was a nice hotel. Spa in room. Heater wouldn't work. They come n set it n still didn't work. Not a lot of parking on side was a down side. But think there is a shop car park next door. Restaurant prices abit dear for us.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jen N Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Nice quiet hotel, Night worker so slept days. Good sleep very quiet , Tasty breakfast , no complaints, Rooms clean and tidy, roomy see attached photo. would return if circumstances required it. close to the water.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

This hotel looks a bit old and dated from the outside but wow! When you step inside it is terrific. It is on the waterfront, and even if your room is on the side street you can still see the sea. It is central to everything we wanted and a pleasant 5 minute walk to everything we needed. The coastal walk is straight across the road. Many Asian and other restaurants are a one to two minute walk away and the post office and supermarket a short five minute and 10 minute walk away. The room was large, comfortable and quiet even though the street is busy.
The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The car park is straight out the front door.
This is the only hotel I have ever come across that offers a breakfast alternative (for those that don't want to eat much) of coffee and as much toast as you want for $5/head. A great idea for those who don't want much.
We wish we had the time to stay longer. Next time we will !

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the second level and our balcony looked across quite a busy road and shops an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 542Jane_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
335 reviews
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
175 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.5 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#7 of 30 in New Plymouth
288 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: €118 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
The Waterfront New Plymouth, New Zealand - Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing