We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
171
44
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
44
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coastal walkway beach walk beds were very comfortable walking distance to town bedroom unit an easy walk great central location plenty of parking great hosts would stay again barb lloyd motel bikes plymouth amenities museum
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We had a 2 bedroom unit with lots of space. Wonderful to have a full fridge freezer so you can store ice cream and the like. Shower had great pressure and the beds were very comfortable. The owners were friendly. Very close to the walkway if you want to take a wander to the windwand

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Milly_Molly_Mandy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDawsonMotel, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for your positive review of The Dawson Motel and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. The Coastal Walkway is a great asset for our guests who use it for a casual stroll along the coast, to running or borrowing one of our bikes to go longer distances. We hope you can make it back another day to explore some more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Very nice motel, friendly service and lots of thought into details. A little pricey but worth the comfort. Everything well designed and placed. Easy to find location by the coast, nice and quiet.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 428chazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDawsonMotel, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for your positive review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Dawson Motel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Have had the greatest pleasure to meet Warren and stay at his motel.
After meeting so many motel owners, Warren stands out as a bit of a character.
I would recommend this place to anyone.
They offer a fantastic service of providing bikes to ride the beautiful waterfront on as well.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDawsonMotel, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hi Doug - Thanks for the positive comments. It was a pleasure meeting and talking with you. Looking forward to meeting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

My dad and I stayed in the Dawson Motel for four nights. It was very clean, lovely staff and a short walk to water front and close to shops and restaurants.
Had good parking and good facilities, comfortable beds. Would recommend this motel.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Tracey,

Thank you for your lovely review on The Dawson Motel! We definitely appreciate your kind words and recommendation.
Our wonderful staff here strive to keep the motel at a high standard, we are very glad this has been recognised.

We hope to have you stay with us again

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Spotted this on-line and then located it very easily. Friendly welcome, lovely facilities.
Moved in and set off to follow the beach walk to the port. Delightful and so close to the motel. After enjoying the sunset and returning to town we had a good choice of nearby restaurants.
This morning off to museum and art gallery only 5 minutes walk away.
Excellent.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank grannypatYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review on The Dawson Motel, we are so glad you enjoyed staying with us.
We are very lucky to be surrounded by so many of New Plymouth's beautiful attractions as well as the main town with fabulous restaurants.

We hope to have you stay with us again

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews