We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Small room but pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small room but pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel had a great atmosphere in the public spaces with comfortable couches and free WiFi. Unfortunately, the room we had was disappointing. It was extremely small with barely room to move around. I would definitely recommend splurging for a one-bedroom unit. The location of the hotel was great, within close walking distance of everything. The breakfast was good value and the spa/mineral pools were a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us and of our Hotel. We are perfectly positioned in the central city and very close to many of Rotorua’s lovely gardens, museum, hot pools and other tourist areas. In terms of your comments regarding the size of the room we would like to highlight the following points. We have four room types available for guests and we cater to all budgets. For the price conscious we provide our lovely little Classic Room which is beautiful but obviously the smaller of our range. We then move into our mid-size Estate Rooms and 1 Bedroom Suites which are both more spacious and have larger beds. For those who desire the best in comfort and elegance we have our beautiful larger Designer Rooms. All our room types are individually decorated in keeping with the Hotels old world charm so there is something here for everyone.

Kind regards,

Brett Marvelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    190
    114
    58
    45
See reviews for
106
360
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel is very old but historic. My room was pretty but musty. The problem is that it was warm when I visited and there is no air-conditioning. That said I still very much enjoyed my visit there. The staff and the owner were very lovely and helpful. The hotel has a lot of character. I loved the location. It was central to all the activities in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Ill.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Some of the reviews are poor because people don't understand that this is an old, European style hotel with a large sitting area with heavy dark woods, chandeliers, a quiet, upscale lounge and older rooms with high ceilings that empty onto a wrap around porch. This is not a resort, it is not a place for families with 6 kids or people who expect a Hilton. When you book this, you are seeking that old world, old style accommodations. We stayed there one night, found the people most helpful and the rooms quite charming. It is near the park, the lake and several good restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel if possible for the full experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphKramden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you for investing the time to write a review and for your kind comments.

As you have rightly concluded in your review, Princes Gate is not for travellers seeking a modern and often "same Hotel, different day" type experience. Our Hotel is a local icon, filled with history, charm, and character.

That's not to suggest Princes Gate doesn't offer modern amenities - because it certainly does.

As you commented, "This is not a resort, it is not a place for families with 6 kids or people who expect a Hilton. When you book this, you are seeking that old world, old style accommodations."

We're pleased that during your stay with us you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and enjoyed the convenience our location in the heart of the City within walking distance to many notable local attractions and great restaurants a highlight.

We do hope you will consider staying with us when you next visiting Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

A lucky strike for us. Stayed 2 nights and loved the ambience and staff. A credit to the family owners and we hope it stays that way for many years to come.

Room Tip: Go for one of the named rooms on the veranda. Old fashioned, not big, but worth the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Many thanks for sharing you comments as we do sincerely appreciate your efforts in doing so.

We value guest feedback and, like you, believe our boutique Hotel affords guests a piece of yesteryear in a modern day setting. We thrilled you enjoyed the ambience of the Hotel, and that your reflection of service received from our staff was of the highest standard.

We do hope you will choose Princes gate as your preferred choice of accommodation when you next return to Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I returned to my home town on the occasion of my niece’s wedding and decided to stay at the Prince’s Gate Hotel as a change from corporate hotels. It was a landmark from my childhood and as such part of the essential memories of my roots. So big expectations. We were not disappointed! The Johnson Room with the enormous stud (I guess at a good 14ft) was opulently appointed with full length drapes in elegant shades of silver and mauve and with all the conveniences of a top class hotel. The bathroom spacious and light and the queen sized bed gloriously comfortable. The staff were all genuinely friendly, charming and helpful from the front desk on our arrival to the dining room waiters and the household staff like Alice. The beautifully restored bar and dining rooms evoked a time of gracious dining and indeed the menu didn’t disappoint. The only criticism was that the oysters were unavailable and so I was unable to order the carpetbag steak (a favourite of my late Dad’s). The proximity to the local cafes and Govt Gardens is excellent and we walked through those splendid grounds a number of times with a new appreciation of all that has to offer – including the wonder of the Polynesian Spa. We have already determined to return to the Princes Gate and next time catch the show and order the carpetbag! The chance to stayand relax in this privately owned beautifully restored historic part of Rotorua is a treasure not to be missed.

Room Tip: The Johnson Room was on the corner - ground floor - and got sun from the morning through to late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Princes Gate - we're your return to your hometown of Rotorua was a cherished memory.

As you've already noted, being a boutique Hotel which enjoys a proud history, Princes Gate is a return to yesteryear boasting high stud ceilings, exquisite full length drapes, and each room is individually designed and tells its own unique story.

We're pleased you found our staff to be genuine friendly and helpful throughout the time of your stay, as we're especially proud of our team.

We look forward to hosting you again when you return to enjoy a "Carpetbag Steak". Be sure to book well in advance if you took a special liking to the Johnson Room so we can ensure its available and ready for your arrival.

Again, many thanks, and we hope to see you soon.

Warmest regards,

PGH team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.0 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.6 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.4 km away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing