We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Admiral's View Lodge(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aarangi Tui Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$67
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Outrigger Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$89
US$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bounty Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
105
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal suiteplace to staydonnaknightsbaysunrise
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

After getting engaged in a sunny morning during our first visit to Crisdon Castle in November 2013 we had finally returned this time to say our 'I dos'. Our memories from 2013 served us well, the unmistakable views, swallows and tui's flying past the deck and very comfortable rooms. This time we hired out 3 or the four rooms for and had our wedding ceremony and reception at Crisdon Castle and honestly it could not have been more perfect. We arranged outside caterers and took up our own drink and wedding cake, the hosts were very laid back and accommodating giving the caterers full access to their kitchen facilities on the day and then storing the food and drink for us on the 3 days following that we stayed and relaxed before returning to Auckland. We had a total of 16 guests and I would say that 16-20 is probably a perfect number for the venue. It really was a perfect venue for us with all our needs met. If you are uptight and running to very tight timelines it might not be for you, but if you are chilled out and wanting to live the Bay of Islands lifestyle in all its glory for a few sunny days then I highly recommend Crisdon Castle.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank stitterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Our travel agent booked us for 1 night so my husband could go diving as we are trying to explore a variety of dive sites. Paihai is a nice little town with a lot of places to stay and eat. Crisdon Castle is about 3 km up a hill from town and not really within walking distance because of the winding road back to town. We arrived at 245 pm - fifteen minutes before check-in. There was a note on the front door of what appeared to be a very large house. It said to knock or call for assistance. We knocked and a couple of minutes later we were greeted by a nice young woman who said she just finished cleaning our room. She said she would take us to our room through the house, which she doesn't usually do instead of using the outside entrance. She said to please excuse the messy interior - which it was. We walked through the living room that had some scattered things lying around a and breakfast area that had 5 or 6 tables that hadn't been wiped and still had food on the tops. We proceeded upstairs to a nice, small room with a king-size bed, fridge and usual amenities. We then used the outside entrance to bring in our bags. Parking was around the front so there was a bit of a walk to carry the bags. The outside area is a bit cluttered and in need of cleaning. At this point we weren't quite sure of what we had been booked into. When we got back to the room with our bags, we gave the room a good inspection and found it was very clean. The bathroom with it's spa tub was immaculate - different from the questionable inside and outside of the rest of the house - this was confusing. The fridge. Is fully stocked. WiFi was a bit slow but it was fine. The view was just beautiful. I probably wouldn't stay here again mainly because I'd rather stay in town. Note ....this is really a large house, more like a B & B than a hotel and breakfast is offered for 25 dollars - but I wouldn't eat here.......lots more places in town.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

After a nightmare trip from Australia with major delays, we were immediately "saved" upon pickup from Donna, whisked from Paihia to the luxury "Kings Retreat". We arrived at 11pm, flustered and hungry from our long journey and Donna went out of her way to help, whipping up a gourmet pizza and providing advice despite this unusually late check in. The room was excellent, fitted with a spa bath, stereo/tv system and a HUGE bed! Breakfast was a similar standard with a luxury spread set amongst world class views. I can highly recommend this place to any and all lucky enough to spend time here.

Room Tip: The "Kings retreat" is private with stunning bay views
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aatlaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Our stay at Crisdon Castle was fantastic. The owners Donna and Chris are lovely lovely people. They cook a mouth watering breakfast. Donna is a fantastic cook! I highly recommend your stay here. We stayed in the Kings Retreat that opens up to a breath taking view over Paihia! Didn't want to come home! Will definitely come back here!!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miranda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Fantastic rooms, unbeatable views and great hospitality. A little out of town but worth it for the views, peace and tranquility. As much breakfast as you wanted cooked to order. The use of a clothes washing machine and tumble dryer was very useful.

Stayed: December 2014
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews