We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
299
97
7
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
97
7
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free dvd library new zealand local knowledge enjoyable stay rooms were very clean the kitchen a lovely stay two bedroom apartment laundry facilities beautiful view stayed longer barbara host balcony motel bbq bay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

This motel on the edge of town is well worth seeking out if you can. The rooms were pleasant and spacious, kitchen was well equipped with full hob and oven, sink, microwave, dining table.
Unlimited free Wi-fi worked very well, parking in separate garage beneath, free DVD library available. Outside areas in shade with dining area and balcony area at front to sit out and look at the view. Very friendly reception, only downside is that it is on a hill at the edge of town, hence the views, and that could make it interesting when driving up to it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tekyinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearloftheBayPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you Tekyinblack :) for such a great review. I am glad that everything suited your needs and yes our location does ensure we have good views. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review.
Best wishes
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

It’s tucked 3 min away from the main beach and tourist shops but still have a pretty good view of the ocean. Our studio was big enough for the two of us and tidied up daily. The back verandah is convenient for some stretching/BBQing whilst the front balcony with water views is conducive to just watching everyone go by as you sip your favourite wine. Barbara, the manager, is so accommodating and keeps her place unique with the little notes on the bed that make you smile and more importantly reminds you to follow the three mantra Rs of sustainable living in an unobtrusive way.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank travelbugdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearloftheBayPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Wow - thank you - this is a great review. I am so proud to read it. I truly appreciate the time you took to post this lovely feedback.
Best wishes
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Stayed here for two night.Barbara was such a lovely lady who could not do enough to help us.Room was very clean,bed was comfortable,close to everything and an amazing view from our balcony.Would definately recommend Pearl of the bay to everyone

Room Tip: any room would be acceptable
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clarkeedsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearloftheBayPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you - that is lovely to read - we are small - we only have 9 choices of room types and within that there is range of prices and style.
All the best
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Four of us travelled around New Zealand for a month in January/February 2018. The Pearl of the Bay was our first stop and we were thrilled with the location. Barbara was so helpful and friendly and gave us some great local tips about where to go and her advice was invaluable. We used the barbeque and the laundry facilities. Lovely hot shower and comfy beds were appreciated. We enjoyed a lovely walk along the coast to Paihia and caught the boat to Russell. Visited the Waitangi Treaty grounds which was very interesting indeed. The Maori guide was very interesting and really told a great story.
Barbara was a very good communicator and always answered emails promptly.

Room Tip: The end apartment would have had the best view of the ocean but all apartments had balconys where you could still have a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearloftheBayPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you Jenny - I really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. I am glad you and your friends
enjoyed your visit. There are some lovely things to see and do here, Waitangi and Russell being 2 key places
I love my guests to see. Equally, we advocate - a stop and slow the pace down approach as well. Having the extra days, e.g. more than
2 nights does make all the difference.
Best wishes
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon as we travelled around the North Island, and what a lovely place. A warm welcome from Barbara, such a friendly and helpful lady who told us about all the good places to see and good restaurants too. A well appointed and comfortable room meant we could relax and enjoy ourselves. Perfectly situated near to restaurants but far enough away that you're not bothered by any noise. About a 20 minute walk in to town. We would definitely stay here again, thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearloftheBayPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you - I don't check Trip Advisor every day, as so many reviews now are posted on other sites. So, it was
a real delight to log on this morning and see a great positive review.
We are small and personal - and we don't have all the bells and whistles of some of the other places in town,
but we work what we have and try to give our guests a pleasant and happy stay.
Thank you, for taking the time to post a review ( especially whilst on Honeymoon),
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews