We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand
Nearby Hotels
Casa Bella Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
35
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbedroom cottagemin driveair conditionerenjoyable stayharuru fallsfull kitchengreat place to stayjimcleanlinessbbqdeckovendvdshostsaccommodationmotel
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Great place to stay in the Bay of Islands. Fabulous views to the hills around Haruru Falls and only a few minutes from all the attractions in Paihia. The owners Sylvia and Jim couldn't have been more friendly or obliging. The cottages are modern, well appointed and clean. With 2 bedrooms, bathroom, lounge/dining and a kitchen with everything you need, plus the front full length patio. Also, very private from the other cottages.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bwowens1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunSeeker C, Owner at Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed having you stay with us
Come again anytime time with your lovely family
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We are staying in a two bedroom cottage:One double bedroom and one twin room; one shower and toilet ; full kitchen; lounge and dining table for 4. Balcony with BBQ on it. TV and unlimited free Wi-Fi.
The whole area is open and wide with children playground. Each cottage has its own parking in front of the cottage. A laundry room is right next to the reception.
Its not in the Paihia town centre but just within 5 minutes driving.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank LilyChak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunSeeker C, Owner at Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you for your very kind review
We enjoyed having you stay with us
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Best place in the Pacific so far! We had the fortune to spend 4 nights in this beautiful place; it was extraordinary.
We have lived in hotels for the past 5 years and we forget about the hassle of traveling and missing home when we find a hotel like this. As an American, this would not be what comes to your mind when you think of a motel. This is a stand-alone lovely cottage/chalet on a beautiful hill. Our cottage was very private (they all are) and they all have a serene breathtaking view.
The owners put a lot of thought into this place. It is immaculately clean. We couldn’t find anything dirty; light switches, remotes, shower, bed linens, kitchen utensils, fridge etc. were all spotless. The furniture was very comfortable, great blackout curtains, good lighting and cloud-like beds. We had some warm days and the air conditioner was great to have. Parking was very convenient and easy. We slept great, you can’t hear a pin drop day or night.
The view, the airiness and distribution of the cottage, makes it perfect. My husband enjoyed grilling and sitting on the deck table while sipping on a cold beer. We had a hard time going sightseeing because we didn’t want to leave our place. I prepared several tasty meals in the kitchen which had everything; including a full-size stove and oven, a big fridge and freezer, aluminum foil, parchment paper, seasonings, etc.
The owners were very friendly and there was superb communication from the moment we made the reservation. They also gave us great tips for the area. The grounds are beautifully kept, many pretty plants.
Don’t stay in the busy main road on Paihia, this is only a 3 min drive away.
It is memorable when we find a treasure like this in our travels.

Room Tip: all the cottages are excellent
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniella1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia M, Owner at Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for your very kind review
Your welcome back anytime
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Easy to find close to everything
So clean and tidy., very well looked after.
Hosts are friendly and helpful
Quiet, everything you need in cabin. Laundrybavailable extra towels would definitely come back here

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jenniek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunSeeker C, Owner at Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for you very kind review & glad you enjoyed your stay as we enjoyed having you stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

excellent price... clean and modern and quiet... best beds for a motel setting... very friendly and helpful was Sylvia... we will be back next time and i can highly recommend.Sylvia also rang to see if we were ok and suggested the local fish and chip shop for burgers she was right... I loved staying here so much.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia M, Owner at Sunseeker Cottages Motel Haruru Paihia New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay & we enjoyed having you stay with us ! Come again anytime
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews