We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
29
33
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
33
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea facing paihia wharf an update the kitchen serviced daily stayed here for nights motel unit balconies takeaway housekeeping nz
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We stayed her for a couple of days. The location was perfect directly opposite the beach and a easy 15 min stroll to the Main Street. The room was very spacious, clean but dated, there was no air conditioning which we needed as the two days were very warm. it had a seperate kitchen which was handy if staying longer. The pillows were very flat and the bed not very comfty

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed in one of the top front units for 3 days. Rooms are clean and comfortable with good Wi-Fi connection all the time without having to log back in every time. The rooms are in need of an update but for the price we could not complain. Jimmy the manager is friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and he was very helpful throughout our stay. We were also able to do our washing and drying which is very convenient. All in all the place needs an update but for the price it's great value for money.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank darren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

My husband is an essential wheelchair user, and I searched high and low for wheelchair accessible rooms in NZ. I came across Bay Sands on Expedia, and we were not disappointed! In fact, this was the best of the six rooms we stayed in during our travels in the North Island.
On arrival we were very cordially greeted by Jimmy, the manager, and he was helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The housekeeping staff were the same.
The room we stayed in was the Family Apartment (Room 9), which was on the ground floor, near Reception. It was sea facing, but the sea is actually about 80 metres away! While there were steps up to the room at the front, there was a parking spot for us at the back of the motel (behind our room) and a ramp leading up the side of the building to our room. Outside there was also a wooden table and chairs, which we used daily.
Inside, the Family Apartment was spacious, with a 5ft bed in the lounge/dining/kitchen area. There was ample space for my husband to move around the bed, the table and chairs, the kitchen, and into the large wet room which had a roll in shower and other aids for disability. This Family Apartment also had a separate bedroom with two twin beds, which was really too small for anyone using a wheelchair though.
While the Motel is not "brand new", our room was clean, and in a good and pleasant decorative state. Our room was cleaned and serviced daily. If you're wanting modern, and pristine, find yourself a hotel chain instead! For us, we found Bay Sands to be a very charming, quiet, and relaxing place, with real character, and we had a lovely stay there for our 8 nights.
The location of Bay Sands is great. The sea is right there, and everything else you might need is only a short walk away, from food shopping, to takeaway, to leisure pursuits, to tours, or cultural interests. The i-Site (tourist information centre) is at Paihia Wharf, also only 10 minutes away, and they can advise on the many things there are to do in and around Paihia.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn022015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights. Poor sleep quality due to a hot & stuffy room. Once the curtains are closed there is no airflow in the N/S facing units, the road is very noisy so to open doors are not pleasant.

Insufficient power points in the living area.

Shower was the worst I have experienced in years.

No lighting to outside sitting area in our unit.

The kitchen has not been upgraded since insallation.

The sky installation looked like it was done by a 5 year old.

The location is really nice, but please remember that your guests have to live here, perhaps only for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChimpR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Stayed here for several days in February 2017. Let's get it out of the way - the decor is very dated, and screams out for an update. However - it was clean, serviced daily, large rooms with comfortable beds, excellent wifi and cable TV if that's your thing. It's not right in the heart of things in Paihia, but it is directly across the road from the nicest beach, and the walk to nice restaurants is about five minutes. There's some takeaway around the corner and a supermarket close by, as well as a bakery. We had a balcony with ocean views, and sitting in the Adirondacks of an evening was a lovely way to end the day. WHEN we come back to Paihia, we'll be checking availability here first as, value for money, it's better than anywhere else we looked or found. Jimmy was also very helpful.

Room Tip: Two rooms at the front of the motel on the upper floor will have the best views
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1Aimless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews