We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
154
66
10
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
66
10
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse marine parade spa bath following morning stayed nights new zealand night stay would definitely stay here again central location hawkes bay sea view john motel bedroom nz accommodation hosts
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018

It was an emergency trip to Napier and we got in very late at night but the owner stayed up and waited for us to arrive. He was so friendly. The motel is on Marine Parade, so it is close to the beach, but it is definitely not a beach for swimming.

Room tip: Most rooms have the same outlook.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TWgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Twgo
Many thanks for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again someday.
Best wishes
John & Llanys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Booked at this motel on a weekend trip away. Really friendly team running the place and super comfortable bed. Was kindly shown how to start the heat pump and given great advice on places to eat and things to see! Will stay here again!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 227gabbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind review and we hope to see you again some day
Best wishes
John & Llanys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here back in February of 2017.
I just wanted to let travellers from the UK and from around the world this would be a lovely motel in OTHER hands.
Booked the penthouse room here on a Wednesday, after bad weather couple of weeks, for the following sunday night.
4 days the owner could have contacted me to let me know the penthouse room, that was confirmed by Booking.com , wasn't available.
I was only told about it on check in at 2.30pm.
These people shouldn't run a motel.
They are money grabbers, very shifty, and are totally the wrong sort to represent the NZ experience.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi again Simon
Again I stress that when you book through an outside agency which is beyond our control we cannot guarantee what happens. We did accommodate you in another room which you accepted and were happy with. If you were not happy you should have told us right away and we could have placed you in another motel.
It may pay for you to take the time and read some of the other replies we have been getting.
We wish you well for the future and travel safely.
Best wishes
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Spotlessly clean and thoroughly serviced each day of our 5 day stay. Very convenient location for city CBD, aquarium and access to main roads in and out of the city.
Proprietors very hands on with day to day contact making sure all was as we expected.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jim C
Many thanks for your kind review and we hope to see you sometime soon.
Best wishes
John & Llanys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

stayed in the penthouse ,three flights of stairs to get to room , advertised as 125 sqm but was including 40 plus sqm veranda that is unusable in wet weather,my wife spilt a small amount of white milky tea ,we were charged extra $60 for cleaning , watch out for this scam,owner recomended restaraunt next door huge room with 2 small paintings on white walls average food and zero atmosphere , would never stay here again

Room tip: don't stay in penthouse
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hopkins0000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review.
Regarding your tea stain, we tried to get it out but were unsuccessful and we had to get professional services in to clean the stain up. We try to keep rooms spotless for all guests and this needed attending to.
Best wishes and safe travels for the future
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews