We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$98
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Barclay Motel(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camelot On Ulster(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,250)
Filter reviews
1,250 results
Traveller rating
478
545
167
41
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
545
167
41
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingthe riverbusiness hotelhotel restaurantcomfortable hotelbuffet breakfastmini barcentre of townpillow menuthe main streetsuperior roomper daycentral locationone night staycar parknew zealandgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,250 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Yep they were busy but service was still good all round. They are going through a room refurbishment programme and we were in one of the original rooms. We are not fans of shower over baths but I think that is changing with refurbishment.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Scott. Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. Indeed, we are renovating and have removed almost all baths, with fitting the rooms with showers only. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in order to go to Hobbit movie set. The staff was very good. The furnishings in the room looked to be new. They are renovating the bathrooms and we were put next to one that was noisy all day. They said they were fully booked and I believe it but we made our reservations nine months ago and requested a river view room but got a view of the business building next door instead right next to the hotel construction. The other problem was the almost total lack of electrical plugs. The new desk had a usb outlet that could not charge an iPad (but could charge a phone). If staying here I would suggest checking out the room before finishing check in. The breakfast buffet was very good.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Ron, Thanks for your comments after your stay with us and I am sorry about the disturbance of the renovations. We are indeed renovating all bathrooms and have almost finished one floor already. In regards to the power outlets; there is a box inside the desk with three power units; sorry you didn't see that. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We always stay at Novotel every time when we need to stop a night or two in Hamilton - Satisfied every time! Convenient location and children friendly, helpful staff and good value breakfast.Highly recommended to all. Thanks ☺

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank inHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to respond to Tripadvisor with a review after your stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back with us. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for business and was treated like a Queen - beautiful room upgrade.
Very friendly and helpful reception.
Centrally located to shops, restaurants and the river and only a short walk to Claudelands Event Centre.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Karen, Lovely to read your comments in regards to your stay with us. Really pleased that you have enjoyed it. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Located in the CBD of Hamilton, the hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants around town. Parking is not free, valet parking was $20/day with in and out privileges. The hotel validates $15 parking at the nearby Skycity parkade but it is charged at exit so not very convenient if you are coming and going throughout the day.

Room was very nice and comfortable. We had a corner unit with lots of light as well as views of the Waikato river. Bathrooms were a bit dated with chipped tiles and a shower tub, toilet was old and used way too much water...it splatters when you flush it.

There was a sign in the lobby saying the bathrooms were being renovated very soon which is a good thing.

Breakfast was included in our rate. There was a good selection of fruits and cold items. Standard breakfast items were in the buffet breakfast--eggs, sausages, bacon, pancakes, etc. You can create your own smoothie with the fruit items and yogourt and the staff will blend it for you. Ample selection of gluten free bread and pastries were also available and lots of fruit juices.

Coffee machine was not working when we were there, but staff made espresso drinks at the bar and served those on request.

Front desk staff were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pd0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your feedback after your stay with us; really pleased to read that you have enjoyed. We are indeed renovating the bathrooms and have almost completed the first floor already. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews