We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Camelot On Ulster(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$61
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Barclay Motel(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpha Motel(Hamilton)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,250)
Filter reviews
1,250 results
Traveller rating
478
545
167
41
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
545
167
41
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingthe riverbusiness hotelhotel restaurantcomfortable hotelbuffet breakfastmini barcentre of townpillow menuthe main streetsuperior roomper daycentral locationone night staycar parknew zealandgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,250 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A good clean central hotel located in the heart of the Hamilton CBD. Clean fairly modern rooms. I stayed for three nights in September. Staff were friendly enough. The downsides. You have to pay extra for parking and the room service food ordinary and luke warm at best by the time the food gets to you. Cold room service food is fairly typical in Hotels. Why Hotels they cant get a handle on making sure the food is hot is a mystery.Trying to get reception on the phone proved difficult. On three separate occasions I just gave up after no one answered.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nipitinthebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for giving me feedback in regards to your stay with us. Really appreciate to hear about the luke warm food for room service. I will follow up with my staff in regards to this. My apologies for this lack of quality. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Being Novotel we thought it would be a good place to stay and paying $179 for the night.

Firstly, bed bugs, I'd been bitten all around my ankles. Both room and bathroom are a bit dated. There was a massive stain on the carpet which is not what you'd expect from Novotel.

Parking was not convenient as you have to park at SkyCity next door and they charge you $15 for that.

The receptionist wasn't friendly and barely explained things to us.

Overall, disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElMilado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for the feedback on Tripadvisor around your stay with us. I am really surprised about your comments in regards to the bed bugs. We have had no reports in regards to this and hope that you have not been bitten outside the hotel. We have a monthly check of a pest control company and have had no reports of any insects. Hope that my staff pointed out to you that we offer a car parking valet service for $20 a day, where you leave your car with us and we will park it for you. Sorry for all the inconveniences. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Love the welcome I get from staff especially Ayla (spelling) every time I check in it's with a massive smile and genuinely wants to no how I've been and quick check in also checking out was fabulous as well and nothing is ever a problem..... love it and the small touches like chocolate and card on arrival ❤️

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank staceea2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Stacee. Fantastic to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Nice place to stay, clean, professional staff, good room. The restaurant is a great place to eat, excellent menu and food, friendly staff however some lacked experience. Ordered Fennel & Cheese Ciabatta mmm... melt in your mouth, followed by Pork Belly - excellent. Convenient location, in town, cafes and bars close by.

Room Tip: In room snacks are mostly "healthy" snacks
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Sheree. It is great to read your comments about your stay with us and particular about our restaurant. I will pass on your comments to my management team. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We had two nights and the stay at Novotel Hamilton Tainui was excellent, as we have become accustomed. Good service and friendly staff. Even though the hotel was busy with visiting sports teams, the level of service did not drop.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JScottChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Mr. Chalmers. Really appreciate the time you took to review your recent stay with us. Great to see that you have enjoyed it. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews