We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$95
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camelot On Ulster(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Asure Barclay Motel(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpha Motel(Hamilton)
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
8
16
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
16
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen bedflat screendining tablean overnight staylounge areawaikato stadiumgood sizeone nightfridgemotel
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our room was very clean the day we arrived. But it was very cold and the tiny 4-bar radiator heater didn't heat the room much. The duvet wasn't very warm. We left a message for the maid the next day after spending the night a bit cold with a rug from our car and our big winter coats thrown over the bed. The maid gave us a good little fan heater and an extra duvet and blanket. There's no wifi which we think should be pretty standard these days, although I see from another review that they had it - it wasn't advertised anywhere. There's a laundry service - the owners do your washing and drying for you and charge you $8 - but there is no other way of doing your laundry on site. Kiwis are not happy about letting other people do their laundry for them. Smaller niggles were that there was no mirror next to a power point, so I couldn't see to use my hair dryer. There was no hair dryer provided, nor an iron or ironing board, although I am sure they would have been cheerfully supplied had we asked. Another niggle is that the light outside the unit was very bright, and the curtains not very thick, so the room was infused with light all night. The bed was hard, but then they always seem to be these days in motels. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Arriving in early cold evening on 5th June, our family of 7 get comfortable in 2 rooms- very CLEAN, spacious and ample floor space. WIFI, jacuzzi, kitchenette.linens .Enough space and equipment to a good start of our holiday..host is friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We looked a 3 hotels in Hamilton NZ before staying here. They had two choices: older rooms for $85 and a new room for $100. We picked the new room.

It was brand new, very nice and very clean. Large flat screen TV, new kitchen with 4-burner stove, oven, new fridge and brand new bathroom. We were very satisfied. They guy (owner) was very nice. He gave us free Internet on top of the room.

A few negatives: Few utensils compared to other, similar hotels we had been to. For this kitchen, the utensils were limited.

If you can, get the newer rooms. It is really worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWtraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

In amongst seemingly dozens of motels on Ulster St, we should have looked harder! Very peculiar staff member also runs the convenience store attached took 30 mins to find our $5 change. Room was quite clean but basic , queen bed in bedroom and single in lounge, fairly ratty, saggy and uncomfortable couch, ordinary TV reception, mismatched cutlery crockery and glassware, room has fridge and microwave, dining table with tea & coffee provided and fresh milk from the shop. Went to the motel office to check out and had to go to the shop as no one was in. $95 is OK for a night's stopover I guess, and is very close to Hamilton city centre, Waikato Stadium and Te Rapa racecourse. Nothing to rave about but it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

This property looks great on the outside but it's run down and dated on the inside. The small portable fan heater in our room didn't work, the linen was old and worn and the the street lights outside lit the whole room up - even with the curtains (thin scraps of material really) tightly closed. Saggy mattress, saggy sofa, dirty and stained carpet. Being right on busy Ulster Road, this is not the place to stay if you're looking for a restful nights sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Melb_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews