We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise”
Review of Ulster Lodge Motel

Ulster Lodge Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ulster Lodge Motel
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We had booked at Motel 6 across the road from this one. On arrival we were told we would be accommodated at Ulster Motor Lodge (apparently the same management). Owner was happy to change our unit when we found the one assigned to us had the queen bed in the lounge rather than in the bedroom as expected. We had an upstairs unit. At $82 for the night this was a pleasant surprise. The unit was very clean - looked as if it may have been redecorated recently - well lit - although basic it had everything we needed down to bottle and tin openers. However you had to request a hairdryer if you needed one. ( not sure if there was an iron or if you requested that as well?)The information folder needed updating with nearby facilities e.g. where to eat. There was a mess of brochures under the TV. Free wifi was available through Motel 6's network.
The pull down sofa in the lounge was very hard and uncomfortable - needs some padding - there was also a more comfortable single bed in the lounge. The TV was an older model (the room next door had a flat screen) and reception was a bit snowy. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to be able to have windows open through the night. Although close to the main road traffic noise was not too bad - perhaps if you are a light sleeper you may notice it. Very close to the stadium - there was a big game on the night we were there but noise was minimal. There are plenty of food outlets nearby - we had nice Thai food from Classic Thai. Would stay again if in Hamilton for short stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs but be aware you have to carry bags up - middle of the row so you have fewer passersby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our room was very clean the day we arrived. But it was very cold and the tiny 4-bar radiator heater didn't heat the room much. The duvet wasn't very warm. We left a message for the maid the next day after spending the night a bit cold with a rug from our car and our big winter coats thrown over the bed. The maid gave us a good little fan heater and an extra duvet and blanket. There's no wifi which we think should be pretty standard these days, although I see from another review that they had it - it wasn't advertised anywhere. There's a laundry service - the owners do your washing and drying for you and charge you $8 - but there is no other way of doing your laundry on site. Kiwis are not happy about letting other people do their laundry for them. Smaller niggles were that there was no mirror next to a power point, so I couldn't see to use my hair dryer. There was no hair dryer provided, nor an iron or ironing board, although I am sure they would have been cheerfully supplied had we asked. Another niggle is that the light outside the unit was very bright, and the curtains not very thick, so the room was infused with light all night. The bed was hard, but then they always seem to be these days in motels. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Arriving in early cold evening on 5th June, our family of 7 get comfortable in 2 rooms- very CLEAN, spacious and ample floor space. WIFI, jacuzzi, kitchenette.linens .Enough space and equipment to a good start of our holiday..host is friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We looked a 3 hotels in Hamilton NZ before staying here. They had two choices: older rooms for $85 and a new room for $100. We picked the new room.

It was brand new, very nice and very clean. Large flat screen TV, new kitchen with 4-burner stove, oven, new fridge and brand new bathroom. We were very satisfied. They guy (owner) was very nice. He gave us free Internet on top of the room.

A few negatives: Few utensils compared to other, similar hotels we had been to. For this kitchen, the utensils were limited.

If you can, get the newer rooms. It is really worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWtraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

In amongst seemingly dozens of motels on Ulster St, we should have looked harder! Very peculiar staff member also runs the convenience store attached took 30 mins to find our $5 change. Room was quite clean but basic , queen bed in bedroom and single in lounge, fairly ratty, saggy and uncomfortable couch, ordinary TV reception, mismatched cutlery crockery and glassware, room has fridge and microwave, dining table with tea & coffee provided and fresh milk from the shop. Went to the motel office to check out and had to go to the shop as no one was in. $95 is OK for a night's stopover I guess, and is very close to Hamilton city centre, Waikato Stadium and Te Rapa racecourse. Nothing to rave about but it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.1 km away
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
265 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
971 reviews
0.1 km away
Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre
0.3 km away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulster Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulster Lodge Motel

Address: 211 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: €59 - €78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ulster Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ulster Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing