We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of SKYCITY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SKYCITY Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here 2 nights to get rid of the jet lag and again before we returned home on our 3 week honeymoon. Location is superb as was the service. Rooms were nicely decorated but the carpet definitely needed a good shampoo. Great view from the hotel room. Will be back!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a water view. other wise you'll be looking at buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vortex1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,578 - 1,582 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Upon arrival I was told by the receptionist I would be upgraded to the Harbour View Room,which I said was great,and told my room would be ready at just after 1.
The hotel itself is okay,but it is showing signs of needing a renovation,on the 3rd level I was staying on,there was a water leak by the fire extinguisher,not really good.
The room itself was good,nice big Television,although it was not hundred percent clean.
One disadvantage of having the harbour view rooms is you get all the traffic noise from the road,(they do say the room is sound proofed,but it can't be that much,as you can hear all the traffic etc).
So if I had to return to this hotel,I would request to get a room away from the street.
I was woken up by housekeeping at 9:00am,I do not know why,they attempted to get in,but I had put the latch on,so they could not get in,surely they would know I had not checked out?? Wasn't happy with this!!
Overall,if you can afford the extra cost,stay at the Skycity Grand Hotel,my stay there last year was excellent!

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper,ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Whilst we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, we hope to have an opportunity to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best
Admir

admir.mullaaliu@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a family trip to New Zealand. The hotel is part of a large complex with live entertainment, clean & modern rooms, polite staff and quite a lot to do. We took the kids up the sky tower and enjoyed the Auckland views. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSuma68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best,
Admir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The rooms are very comfortable, tastefully decorated and very spacious. I nearly got lost in the bed it was so big.
Great location

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keeley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Staff were excellent all the way through from valet parking,reception and restaurant.Indeed the restaurant were able to bring forward our booking and their prompt service ensured that we completed dinner in time to arrive at the Breakers game just prior to tip-off.
A quiet relaxed time super king size bed and a leisurely breakfast with a late check out.

A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Hotel in the near future.

Best
Admir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,582 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,821 reviews
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
493 reviews
0.2 km away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,222 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: €127 - €312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing