We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice apartment away from home”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a 1 bedroom hotel here for 4 days in January. The check in process was pretty easy. Our room was small but cozy. Definitely clean. The living room area was sunny, furnished with couch and large desk. The kitchenette was adequate with stove burners, microwave, mini fridge and small dishwasher The washing machine/dryer took a little time to figure out, but worked fine for washing small loads of clothes. They provide dish washing liquid and detergent. The bedroom was a good size with king bed that was comfortable (on the firmer side). Closet space was decent - with shelves and area to hang clothes. We had issues with the safe, though, and we weren't able to use it. The bathroom was small and probably the main down side. The sink was half the normal size, so it was hard to keep from spilling. The shower and toilette were fine, though. The AC got quite cold, since it was a pretty small room. Wifi worked pretty well, although you can only use one device per room, so choose wisely!

The location of the hotel was perfect. In close walking distance to restaurants, cafes, and shops. It was about a 10 minute walk to the ferries, if you wanted to get out of town to other towns or islands. It is up on a hill, but living in San Francisco, it wasn't a big deal.

The hotel staff was especially helpful in a couple instances. We had rented a tandem bike and had to store it overnight. They were nice enough to allow us to store the bike in the garage. We also had them call an airport shuttle for us, but overslept, and they were able to cancel and rebook another shuttle for us. We had also left our charger in the room and didn't realize until we were on the next part of our trip. They were helpful in finding the charger and mailing it back to us in the US.

Pros - helpful staff, useful kitchenette and washer/dryer, free wifi, location
Cons - small bathroom

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltsao01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Itsa,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished rooms, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    460
    244
    142
    88
See reviews for
149
522
140
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here for five nights after arriving from the UK it's pretty easy to find and within easy walking distance of the main drag but a bit of a climb back up the hill.

One thing I will say about this hotel is the have recently refurbed some of the rooms so some are much better than others.

The first room I was put in was very old and tired and had no air conditioning so after complaining they shifted me up a few floors and it was much better.

Had breakfast once but it was expensive and loads of better places near by.

Hotel not bad and a good base if you want a kitchen and wash facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfol1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

i stayed here for 3 nights, arrived in the afternoon after flying in from London, easy to find, reception was so slow, even though i was the only person there, infact the slowest i have ever experienced. My room was most welcome, small bathroom, but perfectly functional, liked having the extra facilities, like the washing machine etc. I had to ask for someone to help me as my room key didnt work twice, so on the third trip back to my room, i had to get someone to help with my luggage!! this was no problem though. bar was very small, didnt eat there at the hotel, as mainly no-one explained the timings etc, but the eating area was very small. Central location to Queen Street, so handy, if you want to use it as just a base then its great, the pics on the website looked nicer than it is.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Jan,

Thank you for your feedback. I have taken your concerns and thoughts about the process of checking in guests and time taken to check in to our Front Office Manager who will be conducting further training on the matter. Thank you for this, without your feedback we would not be able to improve as a property.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

beware of floor # 7; these rooms do not have air conditioning, and even though our reservation had provision for AC, the reception tried to put us up there both times that we stayed there.

Very, very small rooms!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Myrcou,

Thank you for the feedback, I would like to point out that our property has now finished its refurbishment and upon the next visit to the property it will be more to your liking.

I appreciate that our 32 SQM Studio units may be small in comparison to what you are used to in America (as per your home location), perhaps our 40+ SQM one bedroom apartments may be more to your liking upon your next visit.

Take care and safe travels

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The location of the hotel is the biggest selling point as it is near to Queen Street, bus terminal and easy walk to the Viaduct. I stayed in 2 rooms during my 9 day stay. The rooms are small studios which are furnished with Ikea like furniture. Bathrooms are tiny and restaurant on the ground floor feels like it is part of the corridor leading to the lobby. My first room had no air con, no safe, broken chair,, large chips on floor tiling etc, the list of snags ran to more than 10 items. Anyway I was moved to a refurbished room on day 2. The second room was much better, and was clearly recently refurbished. It was perfectly but not amazing. Wifi worked well and is free, the gym was tiny but ok and staff were very helpful. I did not eat in the restaurant, there are plenty of lovely cafes near the hotel. I had a lovely breakfast in the cafe opposite Eden Park a number of times. If you book this hotel ask for one of the refurbished rooms (they are gradually updating the hotel). The feel of the hotel was more like an upmarket hostel rather than a modern apartment/hotel. It was ok for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Nkasi,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed one of our refurbished rooms, I am happy to advise that we have now completed our refurbishment and all guests coming to The Quadrant will enjoy our new rooms for the same competitive price.

Also one more great addition to the property after you mentioned the WIFI, we have now introduced Fiber optic WIFI which is some of the fastest in the country - absolutely complimentary to all guests.

Safe travels, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
1.3 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
1.1 km away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing