We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elliott St Apartments Hotel
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Congratulations on such a fantastic Hotel so close the main street. We booked two apartments and was pleasantly surprised with how warm and cosy they were. Very little road noise, fabulously comfortable beds and rooms very clean. We are two couples in our late 40s and would definately stay there again. Found the hotel on wotif website and couldnt believe how close to civic theatre, and perfect for catching the bus to Eden Park for All Blacks game. The hotel was very reasonably priced. Loved The Stables, again will be back, so central to everything we wanted to do. Very relaxing, nice to have opening windows and feel a breeze coming in. Infact the only negative comment may have been that it was a little warm in the room. Cant say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ruby2Taranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2008

Good building, great location, nice rooms, decent service, good rates.

My only concern was that a '2br' place sounds as thought its going to be a bit bigger than this suite actually was.

Highly recommended for short stays or people with no kids who are just using it to sleep.

We found it a bit tight with 2 kids for a 6 night stay. Then again, it was much cheaper than other 2br apartment places we looked at, so I guess that''s the trade-off.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deepsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I was surprised to read other reviews of this place as we thought it was one of the best of our trip to NZ. The room (which i don't think was one of the deluxe ones) had a great living area/kitchenette and, after spending hours in other places searching for laundrettes, we loved having a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom. We also found the reception staff very helpful, they even negotiated a discounted taxi to the airport for us.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

Booked a studio apartment through wotif, where they were advertising 'executive' apartments which I couldn't find anywhere on the hotel website. They do exist though and we had a large, nicely furnished, well equipped room with small kitchenette, laundry facilities in the bathroom and kingsize bed. Unfortunately the room suffered from a constant 24 hour hum from the service and ventilation ducts outside - our view looked directly out on to the car park and kitchen area for the nearby businesses. We asked to move and were shown some much smaller, bleaker studios (obviously their studios as advertised on their website) which we declined as the hum didn't seem noticeably less and the rooms were, frankly, depressing and, we were told, the same price. We put up with our room as we had paid for 3 nights in advance, the major drawback to booking through a discount website, otherwise I would only have stayed 1 night. A lovely building and a great concept, but badly executed.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IndigoViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

This is the worst hotel my wife and I have experienced in many years of travelling.

The best parts are the central location and the hotel website. After that, it all disappears downhill.

The front-office staff seemed inadequately trained, defensive and belligerent.

I really don't know how they have the audacity to have the word "Hotel" in their name, but they do. For example, you can't dial up for a sandwich (there is no hotel restaurant), and everything seems to be done by some external company (like the exorbitant parking). We felt ripped off by the externally-supplied internet 'service' which charges on a megabyte basis, and despite being careful not to run up excess-use charges (which requires constant monitoring) they still managed to separate us from the best part of $100 for a two-day stay. Unbelievable.

The one-bedroom studio was cramped, noisy and uncomfortable. We could hear every shower, every flush from the adjacent rooms, and the traffic noise was just awful. A waste pipe from the room above, which comes through the bathroom ceiling before disappearing into a wall, dripped on us every time the occupant used the shower or basin it was attached to (we hoped it was just a shower or a basin).

I optimistically opened the front door in the morning, vainly hoping to see a newspaper (you know, like you do in hotels). There wasn't one - you had to collect it from reception - after paying for it of course.

And don't bring your DVDs to watch - unless you want to pay for the hire of a machine.

The double bedroom was a small, uninviting, dark internal room, and the bed was like sleeping on a brick.

The only thing I don't understand is, how do they get away with it?

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Discern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 km away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#30 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,253 reviews
0.4 km away
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Residences
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Reside...
#29 of 65 in Auckland Central
124 reviews
0.2 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 65 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
0.1 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 65 in Auckland Central
349 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliott St Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott St Apartments Hotel

Address: 15-31 Wellesley St W | Cnr. Elliott Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Elliott St Apartments Auckland
Hotel Elliott St Apartments
Elliott St Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing