We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
15
20
4
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
20
4
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Good building, great location, nice rooms, decent service, good rates.

My only concern was that a '2br' place sounds as thought its going to be a bit bigger than this suite actually was.

Highly recommended for short stays or people with no kids who are just using it to sleep.

We found it a bit tight with 2 kids for a 6 night stay. Then again, it was much cheaper than other 2br apartment places we looked at, so I guess that''s the trade-off.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deepsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I was surprised to read other reviews of this place as we thought it was one of the best of our trip to NZ. The room (which i don't think was one of the deluxe ones) had a great living area/kitchenette and, after spending hours in other places searching for laundrettes, we loved having a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom. We also found the reception staff very helpful, they even negotiated a discounted taxi to the airport for us.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

Booked a studio apartment through wotif, where they were advertising 'executive' apartments which I couldn't find anywhere on the hotel website. They do exist though and we had a large, nicely furnished, well equipped room with small kitchenette, laundry facilities in the bathroom and kingsize bed. Unfortunately the room suffered from a constant 24 hour hum from the service and ventilation ducts outside - our view looked directly out on to the car park and kitchen area for the nearby businesses. We asked to move and were shown some much smaller, bleaker studios (obviously their studios as advertised on their website) which we declined as the hum didn't seem noticeably less and the rooms were, frankly, depressing and, we were told, the same price. We put up with our room as we had paid for 3 nights in advance, the major drawback to booking through a discount website, otherwise I would only have stayed 1 night. A lovely building and a great concept, but badly executed.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IndigoViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

This is the worst hotel my wife and I have experienced in many years of travelling.

The best parts are the central location and the hotel website. After that, it all disappears downhill.

The front-office staff seemed inadequately trained, defensive and belligerent.

I really don't know how they have the audacity to have the word "Hotel" in their name, but they do. For example, you can't dial up for a sandwich (there is no hotel restaurant), and everything seems to be done by some external company (like the exorbitant parking). We felt ripped off by the externally-supplied internet 'service' which charges on a megabyte basis, and despite being careful not to run up excess-use charges (which requires constant monitoring) they still managed to separate us from the best part of $100 for a two-day stay. Unbelievable.

The one-bedroom studio was cramped, noisy and uncomfortable. We could hear every shower, every flush from the adjacent rooms, and the traffic noise was just awful. A waste pipe from the room above, which comes through the bathroom ceiling before disappearing into a wall, dripped on us every time the occupant used the shower or basin it was attached to (we hoped it was just a shower or a basin).

I optimistically opened the front door in the morning, vainly hoping to see a newspaper (you know, like you do in hotels). There wasn't one - you had to collect it from reception - after paying for it of course.

And don't bring your DVDs to watch - unless you want to pay for the hire of a machine.

The double bedroom was a small, uninviting, dark internal room, and the bed was like sleeping on a brick.

The only thing I don't understand is, how do they get away with it?

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Discern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

it is a very nice building, the hotel made a mistake but promptly compensate for providing the wrong room type.

my room was a beautiful executive studio room, both deco and space, especially for the price (I booked via wotif); also have kitchen and laundry in room.

the lobby is upstair without lift, but you will not have to walk pass reception everytime entering or exiting the building. the building is central and next to skycity and convention centre, with taxi rank outside.

Overall, professional staff and very accommodating, definitely recommended

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 7november2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews