We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
15
20
4
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
20
4
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2008

This is the worst hotel my wife and I have experienced in many years of travelling.

The best parts are the central location and the hotel website. After that, it all disappears downhill.

The front-office staff seemed inadequately trained, defensive and belligerent.

I really don't know how they have the audacity to have the word "Hotel" in their name, but they do. For example, you can't dial up for a sandwich (there is no hotel restaurant), and everything seems to be done by some external company (like the exorbitant parking). We felt ripped off by the externally-supplied internet 'service' which charges on a megabyte basis, and despite being careful not to run up excess-use charges (which requires constant monitoring) they still managed to separate us from the best part of $100 for a two-day stay. Unbelievable.

The one-bedroom studio was cramped, noisy and uncomfortable. We could hear every shower, every flush from the adjacent rooms, and the traffic noise was just awful. A waste pipe from the room above, which comes through the bathroom ceiling before disappearing into a wall, dripped on us every time the occupant used the shower or basin it was attached to (we hoped it was just a shower or a basin).

I optimistically opened the front door in the morning, vainly hoping to see a newspaper (you know, like you do in hotels). There wasn't one - you had to collect it from reception - after paying for it of course.

And don't bring your DVDs to watch - unless you want to pay for the hire of a machine.

The double bedroom was a small, uninviting, dark internal room, and the bed was like sleeping on a brick.

The only thing I don't understand is, how do they get away with it?

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Discern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

it is a very nice building, the hotel made a mistake but promptly compensate for providing the wrong room type.

my room was a beautiful executive studio room, both deco and space, especially for the price (I booked via wotif); also have kitchen and laundry in room.

the lobby is upstair without lift, but you will not have to walk pass reception everytime entering or exiting the building. the building is central and next to skycity and convention centre, with taxi rank outside.

Overall, professional staff and very accommodating, definitely recommended

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 7november2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2007

These self catering apartments were within a stone's throw of the Sky Tower so could not be more central. Our apartment had 2 bedrooms, living area and a bathroom with washing machine and dryer. It was extremely clean and well fuirnished. There was no view as we overlooked a busy street but it was surprisingly quiet at night. Plenty of facilities were nearby including food shops, excellent restaurants and a handy off licence opposite!! Staff were knowledgeable and helped us arrange bus pick up for the airport. Altogether a very convenient place to stay. (shame about the earthquake which we experienced one evening!!)

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamalula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We spent the weekend in the Elliot Street Apartments in Auckland City after finding a cheap deal on Wotif.
The building has been beautifully renovated and is decorated in very modern greys and browns with matching wooden furniture. The studio apartment is fully equipped, clean and comfortable. Staying on the top floor is quieter than the lower floors.

The only drawback was the horrendous price of parking, but this seems to be the norm in Auckland. This hotel is better value and more attractive than the standard city hotels. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Eco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2007

We reserved a studio but ended up in a two bedroom apartment. Would be great for a family (not that we minded the extra space). Our apartment had a full kitchen (pots, pans, plates, etc). There was even a washer dryer (which came in handy when our bads didn't arrive right away).

The cafe in the building has very good coffee.

Great location right downtown. Walking distance to the waterfront, shops, restaurants, and the university.

Staff was very helpful.

We were worried that based on the price it was too good to be true, but were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 8advisor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews