We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Ranked #4 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were all warmly welcomed and looked after by John and Sabine, including Louie our little dog. We had travelled to Auckland to spend some time with our son who lives in the Central city. The Braemar was the only place in the area that will accept pets and it is within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, theatres, art galleries, parks, etc. There is also secure carparking the back of the property.

We stayed in the Victoria Room, a large room including bath with shower, basin and toilet nicely screened off and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast is included - delicious and delightfully served using old china enhancing the experience of staying in a wonderfully restored late Victorian townhouse.

The Braemar is the place to stay in the city for warm, friendly, helpful service and a very comfortable heritage experience .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    37
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
125
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

After many disappointing hotel experiences, we decidered (for the first time) to stay at a B & B and thankfully the stay with John told us that we had made the right decision. From the moment we stepped into Braemar and until we left, John was a thoughtful, considerate and helpful host who went out of his way to make our stay very enjoyable.
Fellow travellers, give the hotels a miss with their indifferent staff and attitude and stay at Braemar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Our host,John, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived at Braemar. His love of Auckland is apparent. He has a wealth of information to share and went out of his way to help us enjoy our stay. When I returned home I was dismayed to discover that I had left some clothing items behind and John kindly mailed them to the States. So kind! Our agent had arranged for an ensuite room. We got the largest room in the house which has the bathroom facilities right in the room - quite unique. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast which offered very good choices to start the day. Braemar is within walking distance to Auckland waterfront and other attractions, and close to an excellent public bus. Braemar is a comfortable B&B with excellent service, and offers an convenient location to see the city.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shorefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We spent two nights at the Braemar and were very happy with the experience. As it happens we both love heritage buildings and this one is a beauty, restored personally to an exceptional standard by the proprietor John. The location is perfect and John really understands the business of B & B and how to make his customers happy. Our room was large and tastefully decorated. The very solid construction of this 110 year old building helps it avoid that common failing of the B & B, the sounds of one's fellow guests. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

It's hard to know where to begin. The Braemar is in a beautiful heritage building lovingly restored by its owner, John, and his wife. Our room was large and very comfortable. The bed was one of the best I've slept in. Its location is superb, across the street from Albert Park and within a very short walk to the harbour.

They have a common breakfast table where you are introduced your fellow guests. A practice we have learned to seek out wherever we travel. For us, the people we meet are as important as the places we see.

The best part though is John and Sabina. They both are incredibly helpful and accommodating giving great local advice for site seeing and dinning as well as help with our further travels in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
1.4 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,957 reviews
0.4 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland

Property: Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Address: 7 Parliament Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's nothing else like it. Braemar is the only heritage home right in town you can sleep in. A lovingly restored 115 year old Victorian town-house, in park like surroundings with all the attractions of NZ's largest city just a short walk away. On the University of Auckland campus, up the hill from Vector Arena, the Auckland SkyTower, ASB Tennis Stadium and over a hundred of the finest restaurants in New Zealand. We include FREE; full breakfast, valet parking, high speed wifi and run of the house lounges. Your host John is a born and bred Aucklander and loves to share his local knowledge and great life stories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar On Parliament Street B&B Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing