We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay.. can walk from CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We visited this Hotel for Adele concert and locating a reasonably priced Hotel was a bit of a mission as most Hotels increased their prices because of this event so while we usually prefer Queen Street location by the time we started looking, lots were booked out so found this one. it was possible to walk from Britomart, it mostly being flat till the last bit when hitting Gladstone Road when it becomes steep but was manageable. Could also walk to Parnell village both being about a 20 min walk at a slow pace.

For the Hotel, check in/out was easy enough although they do take a bond which is refundable when you check out. The room was quite spacious with a king bed, tea coffee making and a fridge, own bathroom with shower over the bath. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool. To cool the room was a ceiling fan which really didn't do much at all and we got better air movement opening the ranch slider to the balcony.

On our last morning here we had the buffet breakfast and we found this superb. there was hot food, bacon eggs tomatoes hashbrowns as well as cereal toast yoghurt fruit and tea coffee and juice..

All in all a great place to stay.. the biggest downside was location as lack of public transport. There was a bus close by but only seemed to run during the day so we walked everywhere. If you had a car they provide parking and location wouldn't be a problem.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sfl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Diversion Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Hello
Thank you for your feedback,
I have passed your great comments in regards to our service, great rooms, superb breakfast and location onto our HOD's - they were very pleased! Hope to see you again soon, Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

The price is right. There is an outdoor pool and coffee/tea in the room. Right across the street from a beautiful rose garden. As some others have said, it's slightly noisy if you stay facing the garden and the rooms have thin walls but we were fine. Beds are super supet soft.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank katrinangel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hello
Thank you for your feedback, Yes, our location, comfy beds and views are certainly a huge asset and we are very lucky indeed.
Hope to see you again soon, Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Nice sized room, average amenities, one side has nice views over the lovely Parnell Rose Garden, our side was over the parking lot. We walked quite a few places from here and the hop-on/hop-off bus stops right across from the hotel which was very convenient. Clean but "tired".

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GayeS545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hello
Thank you for your feedback, Our location is certainly a key asset for this hotel with Parnell only a 10 - 15 walk away and the CBD only a short 20 - 25 minute walk away with endless options.
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

The price is reasonable, as was cleanliness. Location is good. However, the hotel is desperately in need of renovation and modernising, but the ownership would be deluded if they didn't know that already.

Soft beds, dated decor and dated amenities aside, the single most important factor of modernising is SOUNDPROOFING. We could hear every sound from the rooms either side of us and the rooms above and below. Every phone call, conversation, toilet trip, cough etc etc can be heard by everyone. And the road noise is excruciating. Trying to sleep is impossible, making the night, frankly, torturous.

On balance, the hotel is not good value. One is better off paying a little more and getting a good nights sleep. We had a full day in Auckland after we checked out, and were completely exhausted from not having slept at Rose Park Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheBigTravelBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hello
Thank you for your honest feedback, It appears that your stay could have been better, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We have taken your comments on board and they will be discussed at our HOD meeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Staff nice but room tired. Bathroom jaded, bed seriously soggy and uncomfortable. Hair-dryer didn't work, and no mirror near power points for wife to do her hair.

On the plus side, off-street parking in Auckland is great. On late arrival after the concert we attended the bar was closed but staff found a couple of small bottles of bubbles for us.

Avoid room 218. Right by the door to the restaurant so impossible to sleep in once that opens (and closes, and opens, and closes...) in the morning.

For what it is, it was expensive. Maybe that's because Auckland was booked out the weekend we went.

Didn't do breakfast. Parnell has a great selection of cafes for that, just round the corner!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank exile66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Good Morning!
Thank you for your feedback, Our location and friendly team are certainly winning a lot of praise and further reinforce what we are trying to achieve as a team.
Your comments in regards to the door was quickly passed onto our Maintenance team for immediate action. We apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
2.8 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
0.7 km away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#42 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
2.3 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
3.9 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: €68 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing