We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ear plugs required.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 28 March 2017

The price is reasonable, as was cleanliness. Location is good. However, the hotel is desperately in need of renovation and modernising, but the ownership would be deluded if they didn't know that already.

Soft beds, dated decor and dated amenities aside, the single most important factor of modernising is SOUNDPROOFING. We could hear every sound from the rooms either side of us and the rooms above and below. Every phone call, conversation, toilet trip, cough etc etc can be heard by everyone. And the road noise is excruciating. Trying to sleep is impossible, making the night, frankly, torturous.

On balance, the hotel is not good value. One is better off paying a little more and getting a good nights sleep. We had a full day in Auckland after we checked out, and were completely exhausted from not having slept at Rose Park Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheBigTravelBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hello
Thank you for your honest feedback, It appears that your stay could have been better, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We have taken your comments on board and they will be discussed at our HOD meeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Staff nice but room tired. Bathroom jaded, bed seriously soggy and uncomfortable. Hair-dryer didn't work, and no mirror near power points for wife to do her hair.

On the plus side, off-street parking in Auckland is great. On late arrival after the concert we attended the bar was closed but staff found a couple of small bottles of bubbles for us.

Avoid room 218. Right by the door to the restaurant so impossible to sleep in once that opens (and closes, and opens, and closes...) in the morning.

For what it is, it was expensive. Maybe that's because Auckland was booked out the weekend we went.

Didn't do breakfast. Parnell has a great selection of cafes for that, just round the corner!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank exile66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Good Morning!
Thank you for your feedback, Our location and friendly team are certainly winning a lot of praise and further reinforce what we are trying to achieve as a team.
Your comments in regards to the door was quickly passed onto our Maintenance team for immediate action. We apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The reception staff are very friendly, there is free court yard parking and the room price really corresponds to what is on offer. The venue although situated in an excellent location (just opposite the rose garden) is in urgent need of an upgrade. We dared open the patio door (ground floor room) and were quite unimpressed. In addition in this day and age the extremely limited free internet provided was really a 'joke'. It feels like a deliberate attempt to lure people into an outrageous paying scheme.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Global_Citizen_YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Hello
Our friendly reception team gain a lot of praise as do the rest of the hotel team for being professional, welcoming and friendly - your feedback further reinforces what we are trying to achieve as a team moving forward.
We have taken your comments on board regarding the Wifi and will be discussed to way to improve it at our next HOD meeting.
See you again soon, Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I have return to this hotel for the second time for one night as I had to catch the train down at the Strand Station.

The Hotel hasn't change much since my last stay which was over a year ago. i was greeted by a nice friendy lady at the check in desk.

The unit I was in was on the second floor it was very nice and comfortable and very quiet as well.

Only down side I had is when I was checking in I found out with no warning that I had to pay $50.00 bond but it was refundable once I check out. It wasn't in the Terms and condition and it wasn't on the website that I would have to pay a bond. If I known that I would have to pay a bond I would budget for it. So if you making a booking for this hotel ask if you need to pay for a bond.

Overall it hasn't put me off coming back to this hotel but it would be great if I had some warning

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Good Morning Gordon
Thank you very much for your feedback,
Our friendly reception team gain a lot of praise as do the rest of the hotel team for being professional, welcoming and friendly - your feedback further reinforces what we are trying to achieve as a team moving forward.
With regards to the $50 bond, This is the standard procedure if we don't have credit card details of the guest(which clearly indicated in the registration card)
We apologies for any inconvenience caused, Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Givens:
Stayed on Friday night end of February 2017, one night
2 people, husband and wife, rode train from Wellington
No car and did not utilize the restaurant
Upstairs room that backed to a small car park
Room cooled by 10pm and a small fan made it very comfortable, was a warm sunny day

Pros:
QUIET!!!! even with the window wide open
Bed was comfortable and shower seemed fine
Room was clean, comfortable and the decor was good
Very reasonable price
Stored 2 large pieces of luggage, one of which was 0ver 5 feet long, from arrival until 5pm the next day (checked out already)
Stored an additional 2 bags after we checked out in the morning until 5pm while we walked around
Walking distance from Train, Parnell area, Dove Myer Robinson Park/Parnell Rose Gardens, the Auckland War Memorial Museum, Parnell Baths, the Vector Arena and the Tuning Fork, CBD maybe around 40 minutes one way/we did not go down town

Cons:
No AC
Appeared rooms that boarder Gladstone Road could have traffic noise with windows open

Conclusion:
Enjoyed the quiet night especially after Quest Wellington at 33 Hunter Street
Had a great time at the Tuning Fork attending performance by Mundy
Wonderful tour of the Rose Garden and Park in the morning and really enjoyed
Ate at The Little Big Cafe on Parnell on the way to the War Museum, maybe the best breakfast we've ever had!! Menu was intriguing and the courtyard in back was very enjoyable. Had Eggs Benedict and French Toast. Excellent taste and plated to match. I'd strongly recommend! We will be back.

Room Tip: Appeared to be a great city location if you have a vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DanBrownBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K, Rooms Division Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Good Morning
Thank you for your feedback, there are numerous walks around the popular surrounding area, and they are all very popular especially in the warmer months.
Your review has been most welcomed and very well received.
Hope to see you again soon,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
2.8 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
0.7 km away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#42 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
2.3 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
3.9 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road | Parnell, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: €68 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, Auckland Rose Park Hotel is a popular choice for both local and international guests, and our conferencing facilities make us the ideal venue choice for your next event. Our popularity is based largely on our long-standing reputation for service, combined with our convenient central location within the chic Auckland City suburb of Parnell. Overlooking Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park, which incorporates the stunning Parnell Rose Gardens, the hotel is located close to key motorway access points, vibrant retail and dining precincts and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing