We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the diverse wildlife and stunning scenery of Auckland’s Hauraki Gulf Marine Park. See wild marine mammals and seabirds living in their natural habitat. Explore amongst volcanic islands with beautiful views of sandy beaches and hidden coves. You’ll also get to learn from the marine researchers on board working to protect the whales, dolphins and their fragile home. Be inspired by the research conducted alongside you on our high-tech boat and enjoy an expert education from our friendly crew. Every passenger contributes to these important research and conservation efforts, just by coming on board. *4.5 hr eco-adventure in the beautiful Hauraki Gulf Marine Park *GUARANTEED marine mammal viewing – or come back for free! *Every ticket helps contribute directly to marine mammal conservation *Watch & learn – expert commentary & interaction with our on-board marine research scientists. *Incredibly convenient – departs daily from the Viaduct Harbour in down-town Auckland city.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The experience was amazing We saw dolphins and we will definitely do it again one day with our lifetime guarantee as they wanted us to see more but the animals would not play ball.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank elizajehanehutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLWhale, General Manager at Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks Eliza, we look forward to having you back on board (for free)! Crew @ AWADS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"marine life"
in 21 reviews
"hauraki gulf"
in 24 reviews
"knowledgeable crew"
in 10 reviews
"common dolphins"
in 5 reviews
"dolphins swimming"
in 4 reviews
"see whales"
in 4 reviews
"marine research"
in 3 reviews
"brilliant afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic trip"
in 8 reviews
"informative trip"
in 4 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 12 reviews
"fun facts"
in 3 reviews
"sea birds"
in 5 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 3 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 3 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 8 reviews
Filter

124 - 128 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

What a fantastic team and awesome day out. Patience is a virtue, so enjoy the scenery while the team search. To be lucky enough to see Mother and Calf Orca's as well as a big male was more than we expected, and the dolphins were fantastic. Well worth the trip.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank rawlofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLWhale, General Manager at Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks Rawlofamily! I think I was on board that trip and it certainly was a magic experience - I can still see that big male Orca silently keeping an eye on things while the youngsters explored the boat. It still amazes me that all of this incredible wildlife hangs out just beside Auckland city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I went on the boat on a beautiful late summer day for the afternoon trip. We were rewarded with a breathtaking sunset, amazing scenery of the Hauraki Gulf, interesting info from the crew and loads and loads of dolphins during different activities. We couldn’t find a whale, unfortunately, but I had the most amazing time and wish I could go on again and again and again!

Thank sandraaaPARSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLWhale, General Manager at Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Sandra, thanks so much for your fantastic review. We really do appreciate it. Crew @ AWADS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

A fabulous trip, saw loads of dolphins and lucky enough also to see a Whale and her calf :) Staff were attentive and very informative throughout the whole journey. Was great to see and be party to the incredible work all these guys do for the conservation of our wildlife! Would recommend this trip and indeed to company to everyone :)

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank michelledodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLWhale, General Manager at Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks Michelle, it's great to hear that our conservation message is being so well received! All the best, Crew @ AWADS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The professionalism, knowledge and guarantee of seeing whales did not prepare anyone on board for what was to come. Seeing not just a big male orca but also a mother and her calf both swimming around and feeding along with a couple of young actually swimming up to and under the boat. Following this everyone enjoyed the short stint of watching common dolphins feeding and seemingly flying out of the water. Don't know if this was the norm but it certainly made my day.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank AussieMac2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLWhale, General Manager at Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks AussieMac, the Common Dolphins certainly are the norm (We see them on over 90% of our trips!) Orca are a bit of a treat, and are always absolutely incredible to watch, especially when they tend to hang around just outside the city. Thanks again, Crew @ AWADS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Auckland Whale & Dolphin Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing