We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a four star hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
brisbane australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not a four star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

The main advantage of this hotel is that it is cheap. Unfortunately they have done everything on the cheap. 1. No air conditioning or proper ventilation 2. No proper TV system 3. Appalling housekeeping standards. Their main business appears to be one nighters and it might be fine for that. Located just outside the CBD so it actually not convenient as you need to walk half an hour to downtown.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cookieabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    371
    239
    65
    29
See reviews for
142
386
88
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I spent one night at the Auckland City hotel in October 2011 when the Rugby World Cup was taking place in New Zealand. With astronomical hotel prices being charged during this event, the Auckland City Hotel was both reasonably priced and provided good value for money. While I would not consider it to be in the heart of downtown, it is still conveniently located and just a short walk to downtown attractions such as the SkyTower, Aotea Square, Queen Street shopping and the Auckland Art Gallery.

The rooms are standard size, with nothing that would set it apart from a hotel in the same price range. The staff were very helpful when it came to finding a cheaper parking option than the hotel parking.

There are grocery stores and convenience stores nearby, but not too many restaurants close by. However, it's a short walk to the centre of downtown where there are many dining options.

All in all, the Auckland City Hotel is a good value choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We booked 2 nights in the Auckland city hotel, mainly to get over the jetlag of flying for 27 hours and as a base to explore the city.
We were more than positively surprised how modern, clean and spacious the room was since we booked it because it was fairly cheap.
The bed was a good size, a flat screen telly and a little kitchen were also in the room. The shower felt divine after the long flight. Maybe the only disappointment wad that there wasnt a bathtub, however none of the hotels we subsequently stayed in in New Zealand, whether cheap or expensive, had a bathtub. The views are of another towerblock.
The location was also great to explore the city and easy to find from the airport bus stop.
I would definitely stay there again if I came back to auckland.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corvicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed here as part of an educational tour of NZ, so I wouldn't know the cost of the rooms, though I did note that the price was stated on the hotel's booklet (about NZ$115).

The plus points:
Room I had was a double bed, with a relatively spacious room, with TV, fridge, iron, hair dryer, etc. It was decently furnished, good bed, etc.

The location seemed good - just a 10 minute walk to the wharf. Relatively quiet street.

Breakfast was OK - buffet style of beans, eggs, sausage, bacon, milk, yoghurt, fruits, muesli, etc.


Negatives:
My room was not entirely sound proof and I could hear traffic in the morning, even when I shut all windows, though I admit I am a light sleeper.

Staff were not friendly. Most were curt, and one even called me at close to midnight to check if I had changed the wake-up call timing (yes I did, with another staff, at 8pm!).

Also, I left a pair of (faux) diamond earrings on the soap dish in my room, and only remembered it a day later (when I've left Auckland). A call to them yielded no results. While I know I should not be so careless leaving behind jewellery, it should be basic honest policy to return belongings to guests!

Will never return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank areisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Enjoyed our stay here over new years - got package deal for 2 nights, breakfast and parking.

Breakfast first day was Buffett style and was decent however breakfast second day was not good- no buffett, just given a plate of eggs barely cooked, an awful sausage, hash brown (was ok) and tomato.

After checking out hotel tried to charge parking even though was included, may have just been a mistake.

Good service generally and they helped us out with an umbrella.

Bathroom small but had separate bed and living areas which was nice and great location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 km away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#30 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing