We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible nights sleep” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountway Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #69 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible nights sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel backs onto a major freeway, it was so noisy I could barely sleep the three nights I was there.

Its a shame as the location is otherwise good and the room was basic but clean and had all the essentials.

If you are going to brave it pack a good pair of earplugs!

Room Tip: It looks like all rooms would be equally noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SalManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    98
    69
    32
    59
See reviews for
70
59
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a three person room. We've stayed here before, and whilst the apartments are a little tired, in need of a spruce up and can be noisy (on the freeway) it's the most affordable place you'll find in Perth city with it's own kitchen and bathroom.

Definitely worth the stay for backpackers for example who want something a little more private and spacious than a hostel and travellers looking to stay on a budget - not spending much time in the room. Perth is expensive... don't waste your cash on pricey accommodation..!

We stayed for the Day on the Green in February in Kings Park, and this was the perfect location, a short walk up the street, to the venue.

In addition, the walk from Mountway to the CBD is only 10 minutes across the freeway. We also walked from here to the Swan River (Lucky Shag Bar and Rotto Express). It's quite central for people who don't mind a 10 minute walk to wherever they are going. The walk to the train station however is about 20-30 minutes. You even have a view from the staiwell over the Swan River..!

The kitchen and bathroom are a little tired, but served well enough. Microwave, fridge, kettle... The air conditoning worked very well (but turned off a couple of times on it's own... is there a central timer..?) and we were comfortable in our room.

The girls at the desk were extrememly helpful, offering to help us book anything we needed. All the staff were very polite.

We couldn't hear any other guests during our stay, even tho we did see other people. The only noise you'll hear is that of the freeway (24/7) but it's really just white noise after a while.

Would stay here again for the price and the closeness to the CBD, but probably wouldn't stay in Perth again because there's really not much happening in the CBD... it's all happening in Subiaco and Fremantle.

Room Tip: All rooms back onto the freeway, so don't bother asking for a 'quiet' room :P
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Both my mother and I had a comfortable stay at Mountway! The views of the city from the self-catering apartments was awesome! The apartments are not new but very serviceableand comfortable for the price! Bothe Sue and John, the managers, were friendly and extremely accomodating. There were a few minor repairs to be done e.g fixing the blinds and handle on outside window etc. The handyman saw to the jobs immediately! The flats do border the motorway though and earplugs were needed, but thats a small price we paid considering the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Came up from the country for an overnight stay on Australia Day not for the fireworks but to attend family gathering.We have stayed in Hotels all over the world so feel we can give a fair comment .The service was great advised us to arrive a little earlier for good parking we arrived at 11.00am the room was ready thats a first hate waiting around in lobbiesalso they gave us one overlooking the river .Well equipped kitchen with decent sized fridge and a modern split system airconditioner thankgoodness as we are going through a heatwave.Yes these apartments are old but clean and thats all you want when your just there to put your head down.Will stay again as it is very central to everything.Dont expect 5 star and you wont be disapointed just a little gem in a spot on location.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a view over river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Mountway Holiday Apartments are situated in an old and not isolated building near very noisy highway. We stayed there 3 nights and we couldn’t sleep few hours.
Main entrance to backyard, elevator and stairs which leads to apartments is without any fence and during the night access to apartments is available to anyone from the street.
I felt very uncomfortable when 2 drunken guys knocked at my door at 2 am... Loud speaking and quarrelling was also in apartment above ours.

I don’t understand that owners can not assure any housekeeper or security during the night to protect their guests.

On the other hand, internet is extremely expensive: 20 AUD/day and very slow. A small shop in reception (which operates from 8 am to 5pm) sells articles without prices. Management of MHA should definitely do something about very low standard of their apartments.

Room Tip: Perhaps in the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VladoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Thank you for bringing to our attention your 3 night experience at Mountway. Yes it’s an old building and the walls are 8 inches thick concrete which keeps out noise and unwanted visitors if you keep your doors and windows closed. All areas are accessible 24 hours a day which guests generally find convenient. I have to say your comment “I don’t understand why owners don’t employ security to protect there guests” is misplaced. I understand that in some countries some residences are behind “fences” with barbed wire and security guards patrolling.. Some million dollar properties in Mount Street and other areas of Perth and Australia have very sophisticated security set ups. The occupants pay for that. We will not employ a security guard to stand-by as it would create a false impression. We do not have plans to employ law enforcement personnel to “protect guests” as you put it as this would also create a false impression. I understand you felt very uncomfortable when someone from and upper level was knocking on your door on New Years morning. Is there a way to stop people drinking or knocking on the wrong door on New Years morning? Everyone knows as far as I know that if you want ‘security’ you need a 4-5 star Hotel. Security personnel in any property are there to protect property and call the police if there is a need to protect guests from some unpredictable situation. Any offended person anywhere anytime can call police if they really think it necessary. We have 2 caretakers on site. Mountway is heavily booked most of the time due to the very competitive rates and convenient location. You can get a good deal from 5 star hotels at the moment. In October they were asking $500 - $1000 per night. Five Star properties don’t provide the kitchen or shop at reception as we do. Those 5 star hotels don’t want you to buy anything from a shop. Just use the mini bar, room service, and restaurants. On the other hand you get 24 hour security. The internet is only $20 a day if you stay connected for 24 hours. That’s 83 cents an hour. Why not take shorter sessions over a number of days by way of log-in log-out. It’s slow when downloading movies because that’s not what it’s there for. Regarding your statement “MHA should definitely do something about very low standards”, I say this. Everyone’s ability to purchase accommodation is governed by their ability to pay. That’s why you have backpackers where you can share a kitchen, dorm and shower with no security for $30.00 a night. On the other hand you might meet someone nice. Then you have the 5 stars mentioned earlier. But for $200 per night you can take the middle of the road like we do when travelling. Interested persons can look at our latest addition to standards of service, the Perth Mountway Map. Mountway is the only property known to give a localised map to guests. Also check out the video on Mountway. It’s a great way to find out before you book it. Kind regards J & S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#63 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Property: Mountway Holiday Apartments
Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing