We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nasty”
Review of City Waters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Waters
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Very disappointed the carpet in the rooms have not been cleaned in years. The place is very old and you had to sleep on top of the bed. Aircon was so loud you had to turn it off to sleep. The only thing going for the place was the location

Room Tip: Book elsewhere if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City Waters M, Manager at City Waters, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write us a review on your recent stay at City Waters.

At City Waters we engaged professional carpet cleaners to clean all carpets regularly, we are sorry to hear that the provided room was not to your liking. Your comment has been passed on to the relative department; Houskeeping & Maintenance to seek for improvement.

Once again, thank you for your stay with us.
Wishing you a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,
City Waters Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2016

lStayed there 4 nights. ocation is within walking distance to many places of interest, front office staff is informative, felt safe to walk around the area even at night, road is parallel to River Drive so can see the river and good view of sunset. Place is clean though the wardrobe cupboard and the hairdryer are a little outdated.

Stayed: December 2016
2  Thank sbewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City Waters M, Manager at City Waters, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Guest,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at City Waters.
At City Waters, we pride ourselves in our customer service and glad that you find the information given useful.

We love our surrounding areas too; anytime for riverside stroll and never too far to walk into the city centre. We've noted on your comment regarding the hairdryer and furnitures, currently we have few rooms undergoing some renovations.

Once again, thank you so much for your time to write us a review. On behalf of the team, I would like to wish you a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.

Warmest Regards,
City Waters Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Great location on a huge park and near the river. Close to downtown and Elizabeth Quay. Useful kitchen with everything I needed. Sure the furniture is mostly painted plywood but it was perfectly usable. Took the weekly package so cleaning only once a week but I can make my own bed and wash the dishes.

Comfortable bed. Could use more towels.

Laundromat in the motel.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Very good communication before I got there even when we were delayed in arriving.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: No elevator. Rooms near front get noise from parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank London154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City Waters M, Manager at City Waters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write us a review on your recent stay at City Waters.
We strive hard to make our guests welcome and comfortable. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to your return trips.
We will pass your lovely comments all our staff members.

Warmest Regards,
City Waters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We booked for to stay a week and the only reason that we did was because we had already paid for this place.Maybe we got it wrong but the state of the old carpet on the floor was off ,but we found it hard to understand that one of the owners (we think) was driving around in a MERC when other money was badley needed to upgrade this place.
We stayed in this place about 13 years ago and at that time it was ok. My wife happened to tell me that it looked as though they still had the same DOONA covers on the beds that they had then 13 years ago.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bertcrozier30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City Waters M, Manager at City Waters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Dear Guest,

We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are listening to your feedback and are addressing the points you have raised. I am sorry to read that our room wasn’t up to the standard you’ve come to expect from us.

City Waters has been undergoing few refurbishment and changes. Currently we have 3 rooms undergoing renovations; which includes new carpet, new electronics and new furnitures. In addition to that, we've engaged carpet and tile cleaners to perform professional cleaning in rooms, replacing older refrigerators with brand new ones as part of our ongoing scheduled maintainance projects.

Our motel have been replacing amenities throughout the years to ensure that we provide guests the cleanest towels, blankets and bed covers. However, same colour and pattern of items have been chosen to maintain the presentation of all rooms.

We thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Kind regards,
City Waters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I booked 3 nights here. Arrived and got my room on the 3rd level as far from reception as possible, No Lift. Went in and smell of a Chinese Restaurant. Place was older than me. Plugged in their iron to iron a shirt. The power to aircon, TV and iron went off. Called reception. Said she was busy and to wait. Waited 10 mins and went down. She then says she has to check electric panel. Good move when you are a receptionist? She did that and came to room. Still not working. She said wait until tomorrow. I said no way I want another room. None. I asked for a refund. She agreed. I packed up and went to reception which was still packed. Sat out front and booked another motel. After about 15 mins went in to see how she was going. She showed me the booking.com receipt and just kept saying "No Refund" in broken English. I said I expect power, a TV and aircon and she said not have to have and no refund. I said I only booked the other motel after she said she would refund. As we argued she then said the power was back on. I said what if it goes off in the night. She said wake up one of the managers. Not avail at that stage. Said I had booked elsewhere. In the end I left and came back next day. Argued and got back 2 nights and had to donate the other. Booking.com were not much help. This place is a death trap. Power is obviously not to standard and hate to think what would happen in a fire? Be careful not to electrocute yourself as well. Should be closed down.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not in this place and it will be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank josephn859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City Waters M, Manager at City Waters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Dear Mr.Joseph N,

We are extremely disappointed to hear your review. We are known to our guests as a clean motel, as all rooms are serviced regularly by our housekeeping staff. Rooms occupied by guests for several nights are cleaned thoroughly unless the guest indicates that they would not like to be disturbed or booked under special discount with conditions apply.

On our record shows that you’ve checked into City Waters on 25/10. The power failure in your room is due to a safety switch tripping caused by faulty electrical appliance. A maintenance job has been assigned the next day to attend the issue. Upon checking, it was found the faulty appliance was the iron. We are sorry that this was overlooked prior to your arrival. The faulty iron has been discarded and replaced with a brand new one.

The above issues have been brought to Housekeeping & Maintenance attention. Instructions has been provided to ensure that at City Waters we provide Clean, Comfortable & Safe room to all guests at all times. In addition, City Waters engaged certified electrician to conduct tests to ensure that we passed the state’s health & safety regulations, and inspections conducted by City of Perth every 6-months.

Communication breakdown has resulted this issue remained unsolved to your satisfaction prior to your departure. As a budget motel, we work hard to accommodate to all guest’s request. As there is only 1 staff on-duty between 4pm-8pm daily, our receptionist was caught at the reception checking-in other guests when your request was sent to her. Thus it took her 10minutes to get back to you. After checking your room and the electricity panel, she then went back to the front office to arrange another available room for you and at the same time after-hours on-site manager was called for immediate assistance.

As the confirmation letter stated, it is a non-refundable reservation. However, as you declined our offer to change to another available room, thus we provided the best alternative to refund remaining 2 nights to you.

Thank you so much for your time to write us a review and we will always striving to improve our service and we do our best to keep all our guests happy and comfortable.

Best Regards,
City Waters Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Comfort Hotel Perth City
Sullivans Hotel
#34 of 66 in Perth
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#57 of 66 in Perth
474 reviews
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Waters

Address: 118 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: €55 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Waters 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Waters is located by the banks of Swan River on Terrace Road, Perth, offering 62 Studio Apartments with a fully-equipped kitchen with a range of rooms suitable for 1 to 6 adults. Our central location is a few minutes walk away from Perth CBD, main shopping retails on Hay Street & Murray Street, entertainment and dining precincts. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, our 3-star accommodation will offer you a relaxing and indulgent stay. Free on-site Car Parking on First-come-first-serve basis, subject to availability. All reservations made on directly to us through Walk-Ins, Phone or Email will receive FREE WIFI during the stay. Reception Hours: 7am to 8pm Check-in: 14:00 Check-out: 10:00 For arrival after 8pm, kindly contact City Waters for late check-in procedure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Waters Hotel Perth
City Waters Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing