We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsure”
Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here for 1 night for New Years Eve and stayed in a King club river view room. We were very happy with the room and loved the hotel itself. The only thing that was disappointing was the air conditioner had stopped working in the entire hotel. It was very uncomfortable having our pre dinner drinks and canapés with sweat running down our faces. The other guests were in the same position as us; I actually had to ask the staff if they could provide fans in the club lounge. There was no time frame on when the problem would be fixed or any type of compensation offered. I know these things happen but these rooms aren’t cheap and I expected more service. Apart from that the hotel is in a great location in the city and I loved the decor of the rooms and the foyer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy_snaps_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
There are newer reviews for Duxton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 952 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

An unfriendly place to stay, very overpriced, with near complete lack of service, mixed with an unusual level sulky arrogance. Where the 5 Star rating come from is more than questionable, this Hotel is a dated and faded with an endemic attitude problem.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

For a 5? star the room is dated/tired. Availed of the $259 weekend package and really don't think it is worth it at all. We had a shower before going to a concert and found it to be boiling with no cold water coming thru. To get a decent mix you need to almost turn it off and then there is no pressure. To make matters worse it then alternates between hot and cold as in 20 seconds hot and 20 seconds cold and then hot again etc. Rang reception who sent up a maintainance gentleman who said he would replace taps. As we were going out (which we told him we were) he said he would come in with a card to fix. We left him to it. The next morning the shower was the same! Mentioned it on checkout and that maintenance had been called. They asked if we had been offered another room, we weren't. No apology was offered.
I have sent an email to management of the hotel and yet to receive a reply.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie190208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at the Duxton with work on Sunday 19/2/2012. Arrived at reception at 6am after a long night and looking forward to a good sleep.

After a hassle-free check-in it was time to grab a quick breakfast before retiring for the day. The hotel restaurant is great. An outstanding selection of quality food to chose from.

The room was located on the 9th floor with excellent views of the Swan River. There were two queen size beds, a desk and couch by the window and a large flat screen TV. The room was tastefully decorated with quality fittings. The bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom has separate bath and shower, and was spotless. The shower has proper screen doors, so no issues with water escaping onto the floor. The bathroom, like the rest of the room, has a modern, quality feel to it.

Once up and about, it was a 10 minute walk to the main shopping precincts of Hay and Murray Street. Before leaving for work I ordered room service. The meal was good and arrived in less than 20 minutes.

All in all a very pleasant stay, I would be more than happy to stay at the Duxton again.

Room Tip: Try for river-side rooms above floor 5.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TQ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed in the Duxton for an extended period while doing some work in Perth. I found it a very mixed experience:

On the positive:
-The rooms are large, and if you are on a high floor at the back of the hotel (8+)you will have a nice view over the river.
-Rooms have a comfortable work desk and comfy chair to relax in. Ample cupboard space and well appointed bathroom.
-Housekeeping was good: the rooms were cleaned thoroughly and bathroom was always well stocked with products.
I used the complimentary limousine service which was a nice touch

Negative:
-There is absolutely no noise isolation between rooms: I spent quite a few hours listening to my neighbour in the next room snoring through his night. It is hard to ignore the noise if someone in the next room turns on the television.
They sell the hotel during the weekend as a romantic get away: I am not sure how many couples realised how public their private moments were.
- Airconditioning in the rooms is loud
- Service is nowhere near as good as in Asia, but I found it ok. Staff at the reception and concierge were friendly and helpful. I agree with some other reviewers that the restaurant staff was slow and not very attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karoh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
1,261 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,593 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#20 of 66 in Perth
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 66 in Perth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#12 Family Hotel in Perth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#16 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: €117 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing