We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

It was my 1st time staying in a hostel, I booked a female dorm however I was given a bed in a twin room. (which was even better I guess.)
The room is clean so are the toilets. Although there are no heater in the room, the quilt was thick enough to keep me warm.
People are friendly as well.
Although it was a distance away to the nearest CAT station, it was still not too bad. Away from the rowdy Northbridge, it has a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbleful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Apparently the best hostel in Perth - which is a bit like saying Chlamydia is the best sexually-transmitted disease. The property is attractive and the staff polite and helpful. But it's still overpriced and full of ex-pat brickies and pissed-up Brit gap-year students. Woken up at 3am by the gap-yahs coming in from the pub and then again at 6am by the construction workers getting up to go to the building sites. If you have to stay in Perth this is worth a look. But you don't have to stay in Perth.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Unfortunately the negatives outway to possitives.
Although this is probably one of the better hostels as most hostels in Perth are rubbish this hostel is really noisy and the layout of the hostel adds to this, the social area where people drink are get really loud is right in the center of the rooms so you find yourself having to turn the TV on high volume to drown this out but it just gets louder and louder and you get woken up by people coming in through the night as the noise just echos through the corridors. On the bright side I found the staff nice and everything clean but at the end of the day the whole point of any hostel is to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed in a twin room, I must say the rooms are a very descent size being a hostel. The staff are very nice and friendly ( and good looking) ha ha. The witch's hat is well set out and in terms of location it's not far from anywhere which is very handy. I got talking to a couple who had stayed at the hostel previously and from what I'm told it has had a considerable facelift which has made a huge difference to the feel of the place. Value for money also gets a big tick of approval.

Sky is the manager of the witch's hat and is very nice and extremely easy to deal with. She goes out of her way to ensure that your stay at the hostel is a happy and memorable one. Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 928JohnnyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

It was my first experience in a hostel and it was really good. All the people inside was friendly and i had good time in the backyard. Anthia, the manager was really frendly and helpfull as well and i like also the place that was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,419 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 56 in Perth
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#15 of 56 in Perth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel

Address: 148 Palmerston St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: €17 - €53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel is a beautifully restored 4-star, backpacker accommodation and travellers hostel located close to Perth's shopping, dining and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witch`s Hat Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing