We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food.”
Review of Geppetto Trattoria

Geppetto Trattoria
Ranked #14 of 4,572 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Established in 1981, Geppetto Trattoria is a family run restaurant that has been providing locals, regulars and new customers with passionate home-style Italian food ranging from fresh pasta, offal, seafood and slow cooked dishes such as Osso buco, Goat, Rabbit and pork belly, along with many options for those with a sweet tooth such as Pannacotta, tiramisu' and gelati. Our friendly staff will be able to assist you for whatever requirements you may need whether it be for our private dining room (up to 40 people), dietary requirements or specialised menu's for any occasion such as birthdays, engagements, reunions or wine groups. Located across the street from the MCG(Melbourne Cricket ground), Rod laver arena, AAMI park and all the other wonderful arena's which Melbourne has to offer, Geppetto's has specialised ala carte menu's which let's you have a quick early dinner before heading to any local event in a semi-formal environment, with casual and attentive service with a smile.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time here and a real treat.
The staff are excellent and friendly this is accompanied by the arrival of the food.
Bruschetta was so fresh and full of flavour.
The mains of the whole grilled fish, being snapper, was excellent and flavoursome and the pasta with prawns, mussels and fish was great.
Recommend this place.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppettotrattoria81, Owner at Geppetto Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very glad that you enjoyed your first of hopefully many dinners here at Geppetto's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wedding anniversary dinner- arrived late and the kitchen stayed open to accomodate us. Food was everything you have read here and we were so happy to have made the effort. Next trip to Melbourne won’t come quick enough...

Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppettotrattoria81, Manager at Geppetto Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave your fantastic review! We will be sure to accommodate for your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Every visit to Melbourne would not be complete without enjoying the wonderful hospitality and food at Geppetto's Trattoria in East Melbourne.
This restaurant is situated a short tram trip to East Melbourne on Wellington Parade and is also a very easy walking distance from the City. For those wanting an early meal before the football it is about 600 Mtrs from the MCG.
During our recent visit to Melbourne in August we enjoyed the wonderful food of Geppettos three times.
The last visit was on a Saturday evening and I left it late to make the booking - calling the restaurant number on Saturday morning (10.00 am) to leave a message . What restaurateur do you know in Australia answers calls at 10 am in the morning (for a restaurant that opens for dinner).
Adrian Cea - the restaurant Director - was so helful in getting us a table later in the evening. That wonderful service was also extended by his staff that evening. The food was superb but is just obe of the reasons why we always return to Geppettos when on our visit to beautiful Melbourne. The restaurant is licensed but also BYO- a rarity in Melbourne.
The food is exceptionally fresh and was a delight.
Thank you to Adrian and his team for making our visits to Geppettos so exceptional..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppettotrattoria81, Owner at Geppetto Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow! Craig I am not too sure on what else to respond to this except for simply saying - Thank you so much!!
I am super proud of my wonderful team and I am even more grateful that they get the acknowledgement that they deserve. We cant wait to have you back at our establishment in the near future! Grazie Mille.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

A large group booking had been made very early in the new year and when we arrived, the booking had not been recorded. Knowing the person who made the booking, I doubt that she did not make the booking but perhaps it was ‘lost in translation’!! However, to their credit, Gepettos staff arranged for us to go a little further down the road to IL Duca and we had a really good night with some really good food. Fast forward to September when it was suggested we try Gepettos again. BUT it was so difficult to park anywhere near this restaurant that my husband and I almost gave up and went home. There is now only one hour parking all around this restaurant, one of our friends ended up parking at the Epworth Hospital and walking all the way to the restaurant. In the end we chose to park in a one hour park along a side street away from the restaurant. This meant we had to go and move the car every hour. Whilst this is not the fault of the restaurant, it makes it very difficult to want to come here again unless we are staying locally.
The food on the whole was good and the service was great. The choice of wine is $12 corkage or wine by the bottle that is expensive. Not sure if the parking experience made me write a review of average as opposed to excellent, as none of us on the table were able to ‘rave’ about the food. But in fairness, no one complained. The gnocchi I had was light and filling but the ragu needed a little more flavour (for me) my husband had the fish, which he said was also nice but was small in regard to the serving size and the price. Garlic focaccia with the olive tapenade was really good and we should have ordered more.
We would go again???? Probably not. Good choice of meals but also exepensive for what you get.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tistru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppettotrattoria81, Manager at Geppetto Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are saddened to hear that your evening with us was not up to our standard as we try our best to make sure everyone who walks through these doors is treated in the best way we know best. The event earlier in the year was also not one we are proud of and can't recall exactly what had happened - although, are somewhat glad at least we could find another solution for you on the night.
We hope that you may be able to give us another chance to redeem ourselves and suggest not to come on a night that there is a game of AFL on across the street as it can be extremely hard to find a park - otherwise the parking is much better and the ticket inspectors only come if there is a game on.
Thanks all the same for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Small cosy restaurant friendly staff great food chef that knows what flavours work together
This is my go to restaurant for family and clients it’s always been great value food is traditional
Great before AFL or tennis ideal location

Thank Angelo Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geppetto Trattoria also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Geppetto Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing