We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now "Central City Accommodation" - ok if you just need a place to sleep”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayflower On Lonsdale
Ranked #159 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Now "Central City Accommodation" - ok if you just need a place to sleep”
Reviewed 4 December 2010

This place was by far the best price I could get to sleep a family of 4 in central Melbourne. $179 p/n for 3 nights for 4 people. Good location, about a block and a half to Swanston St.

I understand that this was formally Mayflower On Lonsdale. No reception desk, instead you are met by someone who shows you to your apartment and leaves you with their phone number. This suited us fine as we were out for 2 solid days and only stayed 3 nights. Not so great if you would like local information etc, although a few tourist brouchures had been left in the lounge.

Very tiny lounge/kitchen area. The most cooking we could manage was frozen dinners in the micowave and cereal and toast. Any thing more than that would be a struggle for 4 people. Uncomfortable 2 seater lounge, table to seat 3.

Bed rooms are very small, and beds are indeed a plank of chipboard, but we found them quite comfortable. At least they can't sag in the middle...Could do with some window covering on the very tiny bedroom window, which is made of 16 glass bricks set hign in the wall. So you can't see out but they still let in quite a bit of light. This was a bit annoying for some in our family.

Bathroom ok, very large shower, water pressure ok for an apartment. I didn't mind the front (tiny) balcony onto the street, I expect a bit of noise in a CBD.

Several lovely eating spots on the street below, one of which, Dhaka, I have reviewed separately. I would say that they contribute to the cooking smell in the building. Mostly the smells were ok.

Seems to be a fair bit of longer term rental in the building, which did not bother us.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank est_888_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Was taken aback by being asked to pay for room in cash. However, my refusal and credit card were accepted. I had booked a 2 B/R apartment. Bedrooms extremely tiny and had no windows. It felt like you were sleeping in a cupboard. Not enough room to move bed from wall, hence sheet all tucked in one side of the bed & just touching wall on the other side. Blanket dirty and had "something" on it which had crusted! The lounge room (for want of a better word) was so small the couch was placed alongside the TV instead of opposite it.The glass sliding door to balcony, which was the only source of natural light in the apartment, was filthy. My husband found himself standing in a puddle as he shaved, only to discover a leaking pipe under sink. Location is great, but this place is NOT value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phasmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed at Mayflower in January and were absolutley shocked at the absolute poor quality of this hotel. Firstly we were put into a tail spin when the lady at the front desk wanted me to pay CASH up front for our 3 night stay. I asked to use my card and was told the machine was broken. I said I'd come back later when machine was running only to be advised that it had been off line for 2 months!!! They then persisted in me doing cash transfer on net around the corner. Something very fishy!!! This is the first step in my complaint process as we only stayed here as it was sent out as a promotion by Qantas.

We echo every other complaint in the reviews:
1. Bed - a piece of chipboard
2. Bedding - no blankets. Double bed had single synthetic blanket. Thank god it wasn't winter.
3. Shoe box - barley moved, not apartment at all
4. Lounges dirty and one had lost it's leg. Very uncomfortable
5. Cleanliness of entire apartment appalling - looked like no one had been in our apartment for months
6. Customer service - no one ever around to help.
7. Cash payment upfront only
8. Bathroom had no washing machine but drain pipe sticking up out of the floor which let the smell of sewerage into whole apartment.

Only saving grace good location, however, far more accommodation available in just as good locations.
Never again. Atrocious.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieYoungMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Sofa was very dirty and stained and beds are a piece of chip board with a mattress on top.Ridiculous!!!First and last time we stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandtmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

If you get nothing else from this review then follow this advice - the moment you check in ask for extra blankets for all beds. Melbourne winter is COLD and a thin synthetic blanket and sheet are NOT enough. We stayed here with our two kids for one night. It was not expensive but it wasn't a great bargain either. Plus the whole place just felt a bit drab and sad. Don't really recommend, though location is good for self catering and it's probably the cheapest self-catering 2 bedroom apartment you'll find. It was adequate, but shop around first. AND GET EXTRA BEDDING.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#97 of 160 in Melbourne
2,215 reviews
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#133 of 160 in Melbourne
232 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 160 in Melbourne
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,151 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#126 of 160 in Melbourne
355 reviews
Chinatown
The Exford Hotel
The Exford Hotel
#141 of 160 in Melbourne
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower On Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower On Lonsdale

Property: Mayflower On Lonsdale
Address: 139 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 89
Also Known As:
Mayflower On Lonsdale Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing