We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALMOST EXCELLENT, HOWEVER.............”
Review of Om Nom Kitchen

Om Nom Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 115 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Within the iconic Adelphi Hotel is the perfect place to experience desserts that, quite literally, look like pieces of art and taste unimaginably delicious. At Om Nom, we aim to amaze each and every guest with our extraordinary menu – which also includes savoury dishes. But the wow factor isn’t just about what your taste buds will experience. We make it our mission to ensure that you leave just as blown away by our service and staff. Om Nom’s Executive Pastry Chef, Jo Ward, has such a flair for creativity – she’s been likened to Heston Blumenthal – presenting whimsical and theatrical desserts designed to engage more than just one sense. Jo puts to work her incredible skills to create magical culinary works of art. Ordering the degustation option is a great way to experience Om Nom favorites. And also be sure to try one of our delicious cocktails! We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Our family dined at Om Nom to celebrate a very special wedding anniversary. The restaurant is renowned for its Tapas style meals and more importantly its array of desserts.

We numbered 12 of which 4 were girls aged between 14 and 10. We received great service on arriving, and our orders were taken relatively promptly with great explanations of the various meals where necessary.

Being Tapas, and of a share plate nature, we generally ordered two to three dishes, with all dishes to arrive at the same time rather than one course at a time. It was the delivery, and timing of the meals which let this place down. The meals did not all arrive at the same time, but rather the dishes ordered by each individual; this resulted in some of the party having almost finished their meals before half the table had been served. Even at the end the younger members of the party were last to be served. If the restaurant is unable to serve the whole table at the same time it may have considered catering to the children first rather than last.

Although stated to be a share plate menu I doubt sharing would be practical for large numbers of diners. Some of the meals did not seem large enough to share anyhow.

That criticism aside, the food itself, and its presentation, could not be faulted. The taste textures and combinations were first class.

The desserts lived up to their reputation with the cigar and ash being the standout.

well recommended, but if with a larger party perhaps provide some insight into the ordering and timing of serving.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dencal1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainslee A, Reservations Manager at Om Nom Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Dencal1945,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us at Om Nom Kitchen.

I was so pleased to read that our food and presentation met all expectations. However, do appreciate that some points of your experience are valid and we are so sorry that on this occasion that the service style did not meet all expectations.

Feedback such as yours gives us the opportunity to learn from our mistakes. We have now renewed the focus for group bookings to tailor the experience to ensure all guests are served together.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Please contact me directly for your next visit at events@adelphi.com.au.

Warm regards,

Ainslee Ashton
Reservations Manager
Om Nom Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

This has been the last stop before coming back to Perth. We had 3 different amazing desserts! I should call them art works because these are not "normal" desserts. I have travelled a lot looking for amazing different food around the world, I am from Italy where food is all our life!! I promise I have never tasted or saw anything similar. These desserts made the end of our beautiful weekend in Melbourne unforgettable. Thanks to all the lovely staff but a big THANkS goes to the pastry chef JO this girl has amazing skills!!!

Thank ChiccaArdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainslee A, Reservations Manager at Om Nom Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear ChiccaArdino,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at Om Nom Kitchen.

We are delighted to hear that in your travels you were able to find Om Nom in Melbourne, where we were able to have exceeded your dessert expectations!

Please feel free to contact me directly for your next visit at events@adelphi.com.au.
Kind regards,

Ainslee Ashton
Reservations Manager
Om Nom Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I admit, I have high expectations. I expect that when I pay $89 per head for a high tea experience with “free flowing” champagne, that I’ll be relatively full and have enjoyed at least 2-3 glass of champagne accompanied with delightful service.

It has to be said that the wonderful professional staff that manage the reservations for events set the bar pretty high, with the prompt replies and organising of secret birthday cakes to be served and were diligent in noting down the dietary requirements of the group- sadly it becomes undone when the servers then approach the birthday girl asking what time she would like her cake served, or you have to wave down the staff every time you want a little more water or a top of up the “free flowing” champagne or you finish your savoury tasting plate only to discover that was the main course.

We had a group of 8 ladies celebrating, all of which were dissatisfied with the volume of food served, the service at the table, and even the abruptness at which they cut off the free flowing champagne one hour into our service.

The desserts however were spectacular, and plentiful and I wouldn’t discourage Om Nom as a nice venue for a date or for a small catch up, but not somewhere I would recommend to host an event.

Our evening was recovered when we went out for burgers following high tea.

I have to applaud the venue in making amends as they invited us back for two cocktails to apologise for the mixup re the birthday cake, but I don’t think it’s an invitation we will be rsvping to any time soon.

All in all, beautiful presentation of deserts made for great Instagram pics but otherwise left much to be desired.

You decide.

Thank Esra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainslee A, Reservation Manager at Om Nom Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Esra O,

We were glad to read that you and your friends enjoyed the presentation of our high tea desserts. Our kitchen team puts a lot of time and effort into the preparation and creation of these and please rest assured that we strive to deliver a positive experience to all of our invaluable visitors. Therefore we would like to sincerely apologize that our service did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Our “free flowing” high tea is a strict two hours unlimited French Sparkling package. We extended this after the disappointment with the cake for an extra half an hour as a gesture of good will. Following the extension we unfortunately had to restrict the service of the free flow package and any other requested alcoholic beverages within the regulations of Victorian RSA. I was worried to read that the amount of food did not meet your expectations. We have received comments about offering too much food in the past and would always bring out additional food items upon request.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We have discussed this with the team already and will do our utmost to ensure efficient and clear communication in future. As discussed in our email correspondence, you have a standing invitation for some cocktails and we would be grateful if you gave us another chance.

Warm regards,

Ainslee Ashton
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Everything was perfect. The staff were helpful, and the cocktails and desserts were extremely interesting, unusual and fun.

Thank Caitlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainslee A, Reservations Manager at Om Nom Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Caitlyn C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience at Om Nom Kitchen.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service, cocktails and desserts.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Please contact me directly for your next visit at events@adelphi.com.au.

Kind regards,

Ainslee Ashton
Reservations Manager
Om Nom Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Fabulous deserts so hard to pick one & stunning cocktails which are served so theatrically.
The swing seats not so comfortable for long periods. The atmosphere is great & the service great.

Thank BillieT696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainslee A, Reservations Manager at Om Nom Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear BillieT696,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Om Nom Kitchen.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Please contact me directly for your next visit at events@adelphi.com.au.

Warm regards,

Ainslee Ashton
Reservations Manager
Om Nom Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Om Nom Kitchen also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Om Nom Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing