We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel but small rooms”
Review of Space Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Space Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice hostel but small rooms”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hostel has everything a hostel can have... exept for large rooms !
This is really the only drawback of my experience. There were little place for luggage and stuff, and littler place on the top dorm bed (it was impossible to sit on my bed, the ceilling was too low)

Otherwise, everything was great: brand new hostel, large kitchen, lots of shared facilities (sport center, TV room, reading room, roof, jacuzzi !)
Exept for the A/C blowing on one bed, the room are well designed: lots of plugs (there are plugs in the lockers which are just beside the beds: a must have!!), small well hidden for others reading light

And the hostel is in the fringe of the CBD.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieClement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    315
    113
    32
    34
See reviews for
44
152
285
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Very unwelcomed feeling along with bad reception, unfriendly nature towards tourists... No time for your concern.. I was very unhappy with my stay and the staff running reception:(

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelpieicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed here with my sister, and we were in a twin room. The room itself was sparce. It was okay. I didn't think it was bad and the beds were comfortable. Big TV as well. The only thing was the fact that there is an air vent to pump fresh air into the room right where one of the beds were positioned. I don't understand why they didn't just swap the room around so that our feet would be where the vent was rather our heads. We had to improvise and put a towel up to reduce the flow.

The bathrooms are shared, and although there are a lot they aren't cleaned enough unfortunately for me. I've stayed at a hostel in London where there are cleaners always around cleaning the bathrooms. Here the bathrooms smelt a little.

There is a kitchen, rooftop BBQ, cinema room and gym. I didn't take advantage of any of this, and would swap these facilities for cleaner bathrooms or private bathrooms.

My decision to stay was last minute otherwise I would have paid to stay at a proper hotel. I would say overall my experience was okay, but I think I don't think I'd stay there again because I would probably pay to stay in a hotel where I could grab a private bathroom.

Room Tip: I think the top levels you don't even have the option to change the temperatures of the room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mixedlollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The space hotel is located right in the centre (CBD), which makes it easy to walk most distances in this area. I cannot say anything about shared rooms, the private rooms are okay. If next to the street it can be a bit noisy. The Hotel has a lot of good facilities including a nice rooftop terrace with whirlpool. I think it is a good choice for two or three night, you get decent quality and hygiene, but it is not cheap!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haukmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at Space Hotel 31 March- 2 April and 4-7 April. Both times were in a 6 bed female dorm. The rooms were quite small and I had some difficulties with having enough space to open the bag. The beds were very comfortable, although the top bunk is so high that there's not much space to even sit up. The bathrooms were right next to each room and very modern and clean.

The front desk staff was very helpful and even arranged for access to the showers when we arrived before the check in time.

The hostel is within a walking distance from restaurants and shopping. Italian district Carlton is just 10min walk away.

I had a good stay and would definitely stay at Space Hotel when visiting Melbourne next time. Might consider taking a double room though, to have a bit more space.

Room Tip: The 7th floor rooms were recently renovated and the bathrooms were modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Space Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Property: Space Hotel
Address: 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Space Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing